West Indies T20 World Cup 2021 Team Squad and Performance

Although the West Indian team has seen its fortune dip in one day and test series, it is one of the top title contenders in T20 world cup. It has some of the most destructive players of modern day cricket and opposition would require something special to stop its march to the title. Teams can take West Indies lightly only at their own peril.

Participation of West Indies Team in T20 World Cup

The team has participated in all the five editions of the T20 world cup.

T20 World Cup 2020

T20 World Cup 2016 West Indies Team Squad

Following is the 15 member team squad of West Indies team for T20 world cup 2016.

  1. Kieron Pollard
  2. Denesh Ramdin
  3. Andre Russell
  4. Sunil Narine
  5. Darren Bravo
  6. Dwayne Bravo
  7. Darren Sammy
  8. Samuel Badree
  9. Lendl Simmons
  10. Jason Holder
  11. Chris Gayle
  12. Marlon Samuels
  13. Andre Fletcher
  14. Sulieman Benn
  15. Jerome Taylor

Check out T20 World Cup 2021 Schedule and download the fixtures in pdf format. West Indies team squad for 2021 t20 wc is not yet announced. Hopefully it will be announced within few weeks.

Performance of West Indies Team in T20 World Cup

West IndiesThe calypso team didn’t have a good world cup in 2007 as they lost the match to minnows Bangladesh by 6 wickets. Moreover, they tamely lost to South Africa by 8 wickets even after posting a score of 205 on the board.

In the year 2009, West Indies displayed a much improved performance as they defeated Australia by 7 wickets but lost to Sri Lanka by 15 runs. After qualifying for the super 8, they won 2 matches out of the 3 played. They defeated India and England by 7 and 5 wickets respectively. They reached knockout stage but lost to Sri Lanka by 57 runs.

In the year 2010, West Indies had the host advantages as it performed incredibly well by winning the entire group feature matches and progressing in to the second round. In the next stage, it didn’t perform as expected and lost 2 out of 3 matches. In fact the host ended just above India who languished at the bottom of the table.

In the year 2012, West Indies had a stroke of Luck as it qualified for super 8 without winning any match. In the next stage, the team performed incredibly well and won 2 matches out of 3. It finished just below Sri Lanka, the team which occupied the top of the table. In the Knock out stage, West Indies destroyed Australia by 74 runs and then disposed of the host Sri Lanka in the final by 36 runs to be crowned as the new World Champions.

The year 2014 saw West Indies again performing as expected. It finished behind India at the second slot in the group. In the knock out match, West Indies lost to Sri Lanka by 80 runs and exited the tournament.

In T20 world cup 2016, West Indies surprises everyone and won the T20 wc title for the 2nd time.

West Indies in T20 World Cup Semi Final

West Indies team reached semi finals in 2009, 20122014 and 2016 edition of the game.

West Indies in T20 World Cup Final

The team reached finals twice once in 2012 where it defeated Sri Lanka by 36 runs and then in 2016 where it defeated England to become the champion.

   Sri Lanka T20 World Cup 2021 Team Squad & Performance T20 World Cup 2016 Hong Kong Team Squad and Performance  
Last Updated on: 09/03/2021