Australia T20 World Cup 2022 Squad, Captain, Coach, Players List

AustraliaAustralia is considered as the power house of the cricket with impeccable performance in T20 matches. It has array of brilliant players who play in different leagues across the world and have tremendous experience in all conditions. No matter where the world cup is being played, Australia would remain one of the top contenders.

Number of T20 world cups: The team has participated in all the seven editions of the world cup. This will be their 8th world cup 20-20.

Captain Aaron Finch
Coach Andrew McDonald

Performance of Australia Cricket Team in T20 World Cup

In the 2007 world cup held at Johannesburg, Australia was included in the group B along with England and Zimbabwe. It played 2 matches and lost 1 however Australia progressed into the super 8 stage. It played 3 matches and won 2 while losing the third one to Pakistan by 6 wickets. The team progressed to the knockout stage where it ran in to India and lost the match by 15 runs.

In the 2009 world cup, the performance of the Australian team was not up to the mark. It lost both matches to West Indies and Sri Lanka by 7 wickets and six wickets respectively.

The 2010 world cup in West Indies saw a vastly improved performance by the Aussies. It defeated both Pakistan and Bangladesh to proceed into the super 8 group. The team won all the matches but lost the title to England.

2012 world cup held in Sri Lanka also saw sterling performance from the Australian team as it defeated West Indies and Ireland to progress into super 8 Stage. It won all the matches except against Pakistan. The team advanced till semi finals where it lost the match to West Indies.

The 2014 and 2016 T20 world cup didn’t prove lucky for the Aussies as they won only one game out of 4 and didn’t proceed to the knockout stage.

Last year, in 2021, they qualified for semi final round.

Semi Final

The team qualified 4 times for the semi finals in 2007, 20102012 and 2021. In 2007 it lost to India by 15 runs in the knock out stage.  In 2010, Aussies defeated Pakistan by 3 wickets in a nail biting encounter and in 2012 they lost to West Indies in the Semifinals. Finally in 2021, they defeated Pakistan to qualify for the T20 world cup final.


Australia reached the final twice, once in 2010 where it lost to England by 7 wickets and then in 2021, they defeated New Zealand in the final to win their maiden T20 World cup trophy.

T20 World Cup 2022 Australia Team Squad

Finally Australia have announced their 15 member team for T20 world cup 2022 which will be held in Australia.

  1. Aaron Finch (Captain)
  2. David Warner
  3. Mitchell Marsh
  4. Steven Smith
  5. Glenn Maxwell
  6. Marcus Stoinis
  7. Matthew Wade (Wicket Keeper)
  8. Tim David
  9. Josh Inglis (Wicket Keeper)
  10. Ashton Agar
  11. Mitchell Starc
  12. Pat Cummins
  13. Adam Zampa
  14. Josh Hazlewood
  15. Kane Richardson
   Ireland T20 World Cup 2022 Squad, Captain, Coach, Players List Oman T20 World Cup 2021 Team Squad  

Related Articles