Ireland T20 World Cup 2021 Team Squad and Performance

IrelandIreland is one of the upcoming cricket teams in T20 world cup and is considered as the giant killer because it can spring a surprise or two. The team has been improving with every T20 outing and would soon become a force to reckon with in the near future.

Participation in T20 World Cup

Ireland has participated in 4 editions of T20 world cup right from 2009 to 2014. It has tried to compete with the established teams in spite of being labeled as minnow.

Performance of Ireland in T20 World Cup

In 2009 T20 World Cup, the T20 cricket team was clubbed with India and Bangladesh in group A. The team lost to India by 8 wickets but beat Bangladesh by 6 wickets. By virtue of its performance, the team qualified in the super 8 category. It played 3 matches but lost all of them. With Sri Lanka, Ireland fought tooth and nail for victory however it lost by 9 runs.

In the 2010 world cup, Ireland was in Group D along with West Indies and England. It was a tough group and expectedly the Irish team couldn’t qualify. It lost the first match against West Indies by 70 runs and the second match against England was washed out due to rain.

In the year 2012, Ireland was in group B along with Australia and West indies. Ireland lost to Australia by 7 wickets and the second match against was washed out due to rain. The team couldn’t progress to super8 stage.

In the year 2014, Ireland was included in the group B in the qualifying round along with Netherlands and Zimbabwe. Of the three matches played, it won 2 and lost 1. Due to low run rate, the team occupied third rank in the group and couldn’t qualify further.

In 2016, It didn't even qualify for the main round. Hope, this year they will perform well.

Semi Final:

The team has not featured in semi finals so far in any edition.


Final is long way off for Ireland.

T20 World Cup 2021 Ireland Team Squad

Ireland have not yet announced the squad for upcoming T20 world cup 2021.

   Afghanistan T20 World Cup 2021 Team Squad and Performance Australia T20 World Cup 2021 Team Squad and Performance  
Last Updated on: 09/03/2021