India T20 World Cup 2021 Team Squad

India is one of the prominent T20 cricket teams with an impressive track record. Backed by top notch players, India has delivered sterling performance in the T20 world cups. Currently the team occupies top spot in the T20 rankings and is considered as the title contender in the upcoming world cup tournament.

Performance of Indian Cricket Team in T20 World Cup

In 2007 T20 World Cup, India won the inaugural T20 world cup held in JOHANNESBURG South Africa. It defeated Pakistan in a nail biting encounter by 5 runs.

In the second edition in 2009 T20 world cup played in England, India progressed to Super 8 stage where it was clubbed along with South Africa, West Indies and England. The team lost all the matches and could not proceed ahead from the Super 8 stage.

In the third edition of 2010 T20 world cup, India won all the matches in its group and proceeded to the super 8 stage. It was grouped along with Australia, Sri Lanka and West Indies. The team lost all the matches and ended up at the bottom of the super group.

India in fourth Edition of T20 world cup in 2012 was placed in the group along with England and Afghanistan. It won all the matches and progressed to the Super 8 stage. Of the three matches played, India won 2 and lost one but couldn’t progress to the next round due to poor run rate.

In the 2014 T20 world cup held at DHAKA, Indian team was in fine form and won all the matches right through the super 10 to advance to the knock stage and the final.In the 2016 T20 World Cup, India reached to the semifinal match but lost the match to West Indies by 7 Wickets. West Indies later won that T20 world cup.

T20 World Cup 2021 India Team Squad

  1. Virat Kohli (Captain)
  2. Rohit Sharma
  3. KL Rahul
  4. Suryakumar Yadav
  5. Rishabh Pant (Wicket Keeper)
  6. Ishan Kishan (Wicket Keeper)
  7. Hardik Pandya
  8. Ravindra Jadeja
  9. Rahul Chahar
  10. Ravichandran Ashwin
  11. Axar Patel
  12. Varun Chakravarthy
  13. Jasprit Bumrah
  14. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  15. Mohammad Shami

Reserve Players: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur

Participation of Indian Cricket Team in T20 World Cup

Indian team participated in all the editions of T20 world cup tournaments. Till now it has appeared in seven world cups right from 2007. It is hosting the 2016 world cup in its own backyard.

India in T20 World Cup Semi-finals

The Indian team has entered the semi finals of the T20 world cup three times. The first one was in the year 2007, then in 2014 at Dhaka and last in 2016 T20 World Cup.

India in T20 World Cup Final Match

India reached finals twice in 2007 and 2014 but could only won the inaugural edition of the world cup. It defeated arch rivals Pakistan in a scintillating encounter by 5 runs.

   T20 World Cup Pakistan T20 World Cup 2021 Team Squad  
Last Updated on: 14/09/2021

Related Articles