ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List from 1975 to 2023

Cricket has become one of the most popular sports in the world, after soccer. With every passing year, this game has taken the world by storm, which is why more than 100 nations across the world play this sport. But only 12 teams have received ICC status.

The ODI World Cup is the biggest tournament that takes place in this game and was held for the very first time in 1975. Since then, it has taken place every four years. The record suggests that Australia is the most successful team with five championships, followed by India and West Indies with two each.

We will discuss here the winners of the ODI World Cup so far. A total of 13 editions have taken place, and the first team to win the mega event was West Indies in 1975. They made it two in a row in 1979. Let's have a look at the champions of the World Cups until now.

Cricket World Cup Records

Cricket World Cup Winners List

Edition ICC World Cup Starting Date Final Date Winner Team Runner-up Team
13th 2023 ODI World Cup 05-10-2023 19-11-2023 Australia India
12th 2019 Cricket World Cup 30-05-2019 14-07-2019 England New Zealand
11th 2015 Cricket World Cup 14-02-2015 29-03-2015 Australia New Zealand
10th 2011 Cricket World Cup 19-02-2011 02-04-2011 India Sri Lanka
9th 2007 Cricket World Cup 13-03-2007 28-04-2007 Australia Sri Lanka
8th 2003 Cricket World Cup 09-02-2003 23-03-2003 Australia India
7th 1999 Cricket World Cup 14-05-1999 20-06-1999 Australia Pakistan
6th 1996 Cricket World Cup 14-02-1996 17-03-1996 Sri Lanka Australia
5th 1992 Cricket World Cup 22-02-1992 25-03-1992 Pakistan England
4th 1987 Cricket World Cup 08-10-1987 08-11-1987 Australia England
3rd 1983 5050 World Cup 09-06-1983 25-06-1983 India West Indies
2nd 1979 Cricket WC 09-06-1979 23-06-1979 West Indies England
1st 1975 CWC 07-06-1975 21-06-1975 West Indies Australia

Cricket World Cup Stats

Australia have won Cricket World Cup record 5 times and has been runnerup once in 1996. (Team with most world cup wins)

West Indies have won ICC world cup cricket twice and both were in early days and has been runnerup once.

India have won cricket world cup twice, first in 1983 and then in 2011. India was also runner-up in 2003.

Pakistan, Sri Lanka and England have won cricket world cup each.

Team Winner Runners-up Title won Runners-up
Australia 6 2 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015, 2023 1975, 1996
India 2 2 1983, 2011 2003, 2023
West Indies 2 1 1975, 1979 1983
England 1 3 2019 1979, 1987, 1992
Sri Lanka 1 2 1996 2007, 2011
Pakistan 1 1 1992 1999
New Zealand 0 2 ----- 2015, 2019

6. England (2019)

England became the recent champions and won their maiden World Cup title in 2019 under Eoin Morgan. They defeated New Zealand in the final, which was a close game. The game was tied, and even the super-over score was the same. But England was announced as the winner as per the rule of most boundary counts. As a result, England lifted the 2019 World Cup at home.

5. Sri Lanka (1996)

Sri Lanka became only the fifth team in 1996 to win the World Cup and the third Asian team. They had an incredible performance in the tournament under the leadership of Arjuna Ranatunga, which took place in India and Pakistan. Sri Lanka faced Australia in the final and beat them by seven wickets to win their maiden title. They have also played in the finals of 2007 and 2011 but lost against Australia and India, respectively.

4. Pakistan (1992)

Pakistan was only the fourth team to lift this prestigious title. They did it in 1996, when Imran Khan led his country to glory. The Men in Green were brilliant throughout the competition. Wasim Akram was the MOTM in the final for his 33* (18) and 3/49. Pakistan beat England by 22 runs to win their maiden title.

3. India (1983 and 2011)

When all odds were against India, they did something remarkable and stopped the mighty West Indies from making a hat-trick of World Cups. Not many gave chances to India during the 1983 World Cup because they only won one game in the previous two editions. But Kapil Dev and his men proved everyone wrong and beat the West Indies in the final by 43 runs to win the final and win the first trophy. Mohinder Amarnath was the MOTM in the final, scoring 26 runs and taking 3/12.

Later, after 28 years, MS Dhoni led the country to its second title in 2011 at home. India beat Sri Lanka in the final by six wickets, and Dhoni was named MOTM for his unbeaten 91-run knock. India became the first team to win a World Cup at home.

2. West Indies (1975 and 1979)

West Indies were a true force to be reckoned with between the 1970s and the late 1980s. They dominated every other team and ended the 1975 and 1979 World Cups undefeated. They won the first two editions under Clive Llyod. In 1975, they beat England in the final by 17 runs. Skipper Clive Llyod struck a brilliant 102 runs in the final and won the Man of the Match Award.

In 1979, it was Viv Richards who smashed an unbeaten 138 runs in the final against Australia, and West Indies won that game by 92 runs to win their second successive World Cup title. Unfortunately, their current situation is pretty bad, but there was a time when they were undefeated.

1. Australia (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015 and 2023)

Australia has won six out of 13 World Cup editions, which speaks volumes about this team when it comes to big tournaments. They have been the most successful team and have won it on three consecutive occasions, which is a record in itself. Australia won its maiden title in 1987 under Allan Border. Then, Steve Waugh repeated history in 1999, beating Pakistan in the final.

Ricky Ponting led Australia to win the 2003 and 2007 editions, beating India and Sri Lanka, respectively. Then in 2015, Michael Clarke led them to victory, beating New Zealand in the final. Recently, they won 2023 Cricket World cup by beating India in the final match. They have been the team to beat whenever the World Cup comes.

ODI World Cup Winners Captain List

WC Winner Captain Score Margin Runners-up RU Score Venue
1975 West Indies Clive Lloyd 291/8 (60 overs) 17 runs Australia 274 all out (58.4 overs) Lord's
1979 West Indies Clive Lloyd 286/9 (60 overs) 92 runs England 194 all out (51 overs) Lord's
1983 India Kapil Dev 183 all out (55 over) 43 runs West Indies 140 all out (52 overs) Lord's
1987 Australia Allan Border 253/5 (50 overs) 7 runs England 246/8 (50 overs) Eden Gardens
1992 Pakistan Imran Khan 249/6 (50 overs) 22 runs England 227 all out (49.2 overs) Melbourne
1996 Sri Lanka Arjuna Ranatunga 245/3 (46.2 overs) 7 wickets Australia 241/7 (50 overs) Lahore
1999 Australia Steve Waugh 133/2 (20.1 overs) 8 wickets Pakistan 132 all out (39 overs) Lord's
2003 Australia Ricky Ponting 359/2 (50 overs) 125 runs India 234 all out (39.2 overs) Johannesburg
2007 Australia Ricky Ponting 281/4 (38 overs) 53 runs Sri Lanka 215/8 (36 overs) Barbados
2011 India MS Dhoni 277/4 (48.2 overs) 6 wickets Sri Lanka 274/6 (50 overs) Wankhede Stadium
2015 Australia Michael Clarke 186/3 (33.1 overs) 7 wickets New Zealand 183 all out (45 overs) Melbourne
2019 England Eoin Morgan 241 all out (50 overs) Tie break
9 fours
New Zealand 241/8 (50 overs) Lord's
2023 Australia Pat Cummins 241/4 6 wickets India 240/10 Ahmedabad
   Fastest 50 in ODI For Afghanistan T20 World Cup 2024 Live Streaming