T20 World Cup 2016 Hong Kong Team Squad and Performance

Hong KongHong Kong is considered as a minnow however it is an emerging team in the T20 format. Its performance against other teams such as Zimbabwe, Afghanistan and Bangladesh indicates that the players are learning fast and could give a run of money to the established ones. Similar to 2014, the Hong Kong team would be playing qualifying tournament in 2016. The international format is bound to provide amazing exposure to the players and they might deliver stellar performance.

Participation of Hong Kong Team in T20 World Cup

As far as the participation is concerned, Hong Kong has participated only in the last edition of the T20 world cup in 2014. In all the other editions, it didn’t manage to qualify.

Performance of Hong Kong Team in T20 World Cup

In the 2014 edition of World Cup held in Dhaka. Hong Kong was placed in the group A along with Bangladesh, Nepal and Afghanistan. In the first match against Nepal, Hong Kong lost by 80 runs as it was not able to overhaul the 149 runs total of the opposition. In its second match of the group, Hong Kong batted first and massed 153 runs of the allotted 20 over for the loss of 8 wickets. Afghanistan chased down the required runs with 7 wickets to spare. The third match between Hong Kong team and Bangladesh was a huge surprise as the former beat the latter by 2 wickets. Batting first, the South Asian team scored 108 runs in 16.3 over however the spin attack didn’t prove to be sufficient as Hong Kong overhauled the total at the loss of 8 wickets. For a newbie like Hong Kong, it is a great achievement and augurs well for the future of the competition.

T20 World Cup 2016 Afghanistan Team Squad and PerformanceT20 World Cup 2016 Hong Kong Team Squad

Following is the 15 member team squad of Hong kong team for T20 world cup 2016.

  1. Tanvir Ahmed
  2. Ryan Campbell
  3. James Atkinson
  4. Waqas Barkat
  5. Aizaz Khan
  6. Mark Chapman
  7. Haseeb Amjad
  8. Babar Hayat
  9. Nadeem Ahmed
  10. Nizakat Khan
  11. Kinchit Shah
  12. Tanwir Afzal
  13. Anshuman Rath
  14. Waqas Khan
  15. Christopher Carter
   West Indies T20 World Cup 2021 Team Squad South Africa T20 World Cup 2021 Team Squad  
Last Updated on: 29/02/2020