Sri Lanka T20 World Cup 2022 Squad, Captain, Coach, Players List

The south Asian nation is a cricketing powerhouse and along with India and Pakistan is a powerful title contender. With brilliant players in its ranks, Sri Lanka can overpower the opposition on its day. In T20 matches, the country has impeccable record as it is also the defending champion. Teams playing against Sri Lanka have their task cut out.

Performance of Sri Lanka Team in T20 World Cup

Sri LankaIn the 2007 T20 world cup Sri Lanka was placed in the group c along with New Zealand and Kenya. It defeated both teams and ended at the top of the table. Kiwis were thrashed by 7 wickets while Kenya was bamboozled by 172 runs. In the super 8 round, Sri Lanka played 3 matches and lost 2 to Pakistan and Australia by 33 runs and 10 wickets respectively.

In the 2009 T20 world cup, Sri Lanka delivered a stupendous performance. The team was clubbed along with Australia and West Indies. It defeated both of them comprehensively and topped the group. The team progressed to the super 8 due to its stupendous performance. In the super league, Sri Lanka won all the games by defeating Pakistan, New Zealand and Ireland. The team advanced to the knock out stage where it defeated West Indies by 57 runs however in the finals Sri Lankans lost to Pakistan.

In the 2010 T20 world cup Sri Continued to deliver strong performance as it advanced into the super 8 by occupying second position in the group B. It narrowly lost to New Zealand by 2 wickets. In super 8 Sri Lanka was behind Australia in the points table and qualified for the knock out stage. It lost the match against Australia by 81 runs. In semis Sri Lanka lost to England by 7 wickets who eventually became the champions.

The 2012 T20 world cup saw Sri Lanka acting as a host. It won all the matches in the group overcoming the challenges from West Indies, England and New Zealand. In the super 8 category, it won all the matches and marched in to the knock stage where in ran into Pakistan. The Pakistan team was thrashed by 16 runs however Sri Lanka lost the finals to eventual winners West Indies.

In T20 World Cup 2014, the Sri Lanka pulled the rabbit out in DHAKA and won the T20 world cup for the first time defeating the cricketing powerhouse India.

In 2016 T20 World Cup, Sri Lanka could not qualify for the semifinal round.

Sri Lanka T20 World Cup 2022 Team Squad

Very soon Sri Lanka will announce their squad for T20 World cup 2022. Check 2022 T20 world cup schedule and download the fixtures in pdf format.

  1. Dhananjaya de Silva
  2. Danushka Gunathilaka
  3. Bhanuka Rajapaksa
  4. Dushmantha Chameera
  5. Dasun Shanaka
  6. Jeffrey Vandersay
  7. Kusal Mendis
  8. Pathum Nissanka
  9. Lahiru Kumara
  10. Wanindu Hasaranga
  11. Chamika Karunaratne
  12. Charith Asalanka
  13. Maheesh Theekshana
  14. Dilshan Madushanka
  15. Pramod Madushan

T20 World Cup 2021 Sri Lanka Team Squad

15 member team squad of Sri Lankan team for T20 world cup 2021 is listed below.

Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lahiru Madushanka, Maheesh Theekshana, 

Reserve Players: Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Pulina Tharanga

Participation of Sri Lanka Team in T20 World Cup

The team has participated in all the editions of the T20 tournament.

Sri Lanka in T20 World Cup Semi Final

Sri Lanka was semifinalist in 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2014 edition.

Sri Lanka in T20 World Cup Final

It was finalist in 2009, 2012 and 2014 T20 world cup Championship. In 2014, it became the world champion in Dhaka by overcoming India by 6 wickets.

   Netherlands T20 World Cup 2022 Squad, Captain, Coach, Players List West Indies T20 World Cup 2022 Squad, Captain, Coach, Players List  

Related Articles