England T20 World Cup 2022 Squad, Captain, Coach, Players List

EnglandEngland, the birth place of cricket is a powerhouse irrespective of the format. The team has been a consistent performer in T20 versions and has proved to be the nemesis for many established teams. Studded with all-Rounders, the team is a serious contender to the world title.

Captain Jos Buttler
Coach Matthew Mott

Performance of England Team in T20 World Cup

In 2007, English team was placed in group B along with Australia and Zimbabwe. The English beat Zimbabwe by 50 runs but lost to Australia by 8 wickets. They proceeded to the super 8 stage but could not win even a single match and lost all 3 of them to India, New Zealand and South Africa.

In the year 2009, England was in group B along with Pakistan and Netherlands.  English lost to Netherlands in a major upset but succeeded in defeating Pakistan by 48 runs. In the super 8 stage, England won only one fixture out of 3 matches. The single win came over India in an enthralling encounter when the host scraped through by 3 runs.

The 2010 world cup proved to be a boon for the English cricket. POMS marched ahead right through the group stages without winning a single match however in super 8 it won all the 3 matches and proceeded to the knock out stage. It defeated Sri Lanka by 7 wickets and in the finals thrashed Aussie comfortably by 7 wickets.

The year 2012 in Sri Lanka pitted England with India and Afghanistan. English win one match and lost the other against India. In the super 8 stage, England could only win one match out of 3 and exited the tournament.

In the year 2014, the English team could only win one out of 4 matches and the performance was nothing to write home about.

In the year 2016, they again proved themselves and was the runnersup.

In the Last T20 world cup 2021, they qualified for semi final against New Zealand but lost that match.

Semi Finals:

English team qualified for semi finals three times, once in 2010 and defeated Sri Lanka to reach Finals and then in 2016, where they defeated New Zealand to reach the final and in 2021, they again played against NZ but lost that match.


The 2010 saw English team crowned as world champion as it decimated Australia by 7 wickets. They also qualified for T20 world cup 2016 final match but defeated by West Indies.

T20 World Cup 2022 England Team Squad

  1. Jos Buttler (Captain)
  2. Moeen Ali
  3. Jonny Bairstow
  4. Harry Brook
  5. Sam Curran
  6. Chris Jordan
  7. Liam Livingstone
  8. Dawid Malan
  9. Adil Rashid
  10. Phil Salt
  11. Ben Stokes
  12. Reece Topley
  13. David Willey
  14. Chris Woakes
  15. Mark Wood

Reserve Players: Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, Tymal Mills

Participation of England Team in T20 World Cup

The team has participated in all the editions of the T20 world cup from the beginning.

   Bangladesh T20 World Cup 2022 Squad, Captain, Coach, Players List New Zealand T20 World Cup 2022 Squad, Captain, Coach, Players List  
Last Updated on: 02/09/2022

Related Articles