T20 World Cup Final Match 2014 - Sri Lanka vs India

  • India
    20 Overs
    Virat Kohli
    Rohit Sharma
    Rangana Herath
    Angelo Mathews
  • Sri Lanka
    17.5 Overs
    Kumar Sangakka..
    Mahela Jayawar..
    Mohit Sharma
    Ravichandran A..
Sangakara help Lankan’s to break the Final jinx

The last match saw a rain delay and the game started 40 minutes late from the scheduled time. The Lankan captain Malinga won the toss and they decided to field first. The Lankans got their first success in the form of Rahane. The pitch seemed to play its games as the Indians faced trouble in scoring runs easily. Soon the inform batsmen Kohli and Sharma started hitting the ball and it seemed that India will get away with the match when again Sharma lost his wicket playing a loose shot. India was struggling on 64/2 when Yuvraj Singh made his way to the middle. Kohli then took charge to the Lankan camp scoring at a brisk rate. Soon the Indians seemed to reach the score of 170+ when a deadly 2 over’s from Malinga stopped the flow of runs. Indians finished at a score of 130. 

The Sri Lankans now looked favorites to chase the score down.  At the end of the power play Lanka was on 41 after losing both the openers. Jayawardene played an innings which had shots of elegance. But soon he too was out losing his wicket to Raina. It seemed that the game would go to the wires as the Indian Spinners were making it tough for the Lankans. But the class of Sangakara made sure that his team would make it through easily. Thus the jinx of final was broken by the Lankans and they were crowned the World T20 Champions. Sangakara was named as player of the match for his unbeaten 52.

Man of the series award was given to Virat Kohli for this excellent batting performance throughout this T20 world cup 2014 tournament.