Sri Lanka vs India Test Series 2015

In the series of Test Matches of 2015, India gains victory after 22 years: The series of the 3 test matches were remarkable. The series had its broadcast in United Kingdom, India, Australia, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, New Zealand and Canada. The up's and downs that the two opponents faced, after each match, kept the suspense of the commentators, players, and viewers at its peak. In the beginning of the series, Sri Lanka boosted itself up and took the lead while India took time to get into the momentum of the game. India had the feeling of gaining victory, so the players buckled up and gave it a go. Setting an unbreakable target for the Sri Lankans, India won the series.

After Sri Lanka's victory in the first test match, Indian Team came out from their comfort bubble and won the rest of the matches of the series.

The outstanding performance by the top scorer of the first Test Match- Dinesh Chandimal (Sri Lanka), made it way too easy for the Sri Lankans to set a high target for India. The Sri Lankans bat and bowled for boundaries and wickets, having the advantage of playing in their country playground. Sri Lanka scored 367 runs in 82.2 overs and set a target of 176 runs after the second innings. India lost the match by 63 runs and Dinesh Chandimal was awarded the Man of the Match

All pumped up after the first Test Match, India broke its bubble, bat and bowled like a bolt of light! Lokesh Rahul and Ajinkya Rahane hit for centuries while Amit Mishra and Ravichandran Ashwin went for the stumps! Though Sri Lanka tried to take the match away from the Indians, they failed to cut down the fire at which the batsmen went for sixes and fours. The Sri Lankan Capt. Angelo Mathews, tried to pull up the score to hit the target of 413, but his century couldn't break what India made. India won the second test match by a huge margin of 278 runs, and Lokesh Rahul of India was given the title of the Man of the Match.

It was 1-1 and therefore the third test match was very important for both teams. The third Test Match of the series was the tie breaker. The Indian inning escalated well with Cheteshwar Pujara scoring 145 runs with no wicket down. On the other hand the Sri Lankans put up a remarkable defense with Dhammika Prasad taking down 4 wickets! The top scorer of Sri Lanka being Angelo Mathews once again scored a century. The target after the second inning set by India was 368. Sri Lanka unfortunately, once again, could not break what India made. Sri Lanka scored 268 runs in 85 overs. India set a high mark for its victory to be ceased.

Cheteshwar Pujara was given the title of the Man of the Match in the third Test match and Ravichandran Ashwin was awarded the player of the series for taking 21 wickets. India won the series by 2-1. 

Series Result

India Won the 3 Match Test Series By 2-1

Man Of Series

Ravichandran Ashwin

Start Date


End Date


Host Country

Sri Lanka,Sri Lanka


Download as PDF


Sri Lanka vs India 1st Test Match 2015
Match 1
Start Date- 12/08/2015
Time - 09:30(Local)
End Date- 16/08/2015
Sri Lanka
Man of the Match
Dinesh Chandimal
India Venue
Galle International Stadium
Sri Lanka vs India 2nd Test Match 2015
Match 2
Start Date- 20/08/2015
Time - 09:30(Local)
End Date- 24/08/2015
Sri Lanka
Man of the Match
Kannaur Lokesh Rahul
India Venue
P Sara Oval
Sri Lanka vs India 3rd Test Match 2015
Match 3
Start Date- 28/08/2015
Time - 09:30(Local)
End Date- 01/09/2015
Sri Lanka
Man of the Match
Cheteshwar Arvind Pujara
India Venue
Pallekele International Cricket Stadium
India Sri Lanka


India Team Squad
Ishant Sharma Rohit Sharma Cheteshwar Pujara Ajinkya Rahane
Amit Mishra Bhuvneshwar Kumar Singh Virat Kohli Ravichandran Ashwin
Shikhar Dhawan Harbhajan Singh Murali Vijay Wriddhiman Saha
Naman Ojha Umesh Yadav Varun Aaron Stuart Binny
KL Rahul

Sri Lanka Team Squad
Kusal Janith Perera Lahiru Thirimanne Kumar Sangakkara Tharindu Kaushal
Dimuth Karunaratne Rangana Herath Dinesh Chandimal Angelo Mathews
Upul Tharanga Dhammika Prasad Nuwan Pradeep Jehan Mubarak
Kaushal Silva Dilruwan Perera Vishwa Fernando Dushmantha Chameera