India vs Sri Lanka T20 Series 2016

The T20 series between India and Sri Lanka to be held in the February month of 2016 consists of 3 matches. They will be organized in Pune, Ranchi and Vishakhapatnam and could prove to be the last rehearsal for the T20 world cup to be held later in the year. Sri Lanka was to be led by Angelo Mathews however he is injured. India would be spearheaded by MS DHONI, the only captain who has won both T20 and One day world cup for the team.

Since the pitches will be on the slower side, spinners would come into play with ASHWIN and JADEJA being vital cog in the wheel. The spin twins are bound to have an impact not only in the series but also in the world Cup. Last time when Sri Lanka and India met for T20 match in the world cup, the former won by 6 wickets with 13 balls to spare.

For the upcoming T2-0 series, BCCI has rested VIRAT KOHLI and included Manish Pandey as his replacement. Moreover, PAWAN NEGI has also been incorporated for Sri Lanka series. Pawan is an all rounder and could play an important part in the T20 games. GURKEERAT and RISHI DHAWAN have been dropped from the squad. NEGI is a hard hitting batsman lower down the order while MANISH PANDEY played scintillating knock in the recently concluded series against Australia.

From Sri Lanka, DINESH CHANDIMAL and LAHIRU THIRIMANNE are the primary pillars of the batting line up and they would be ably supported by the opener TILAKRATNE DILSHAN.  THISARA PARERA can be a useful all rounder as he has immense experience in playing IPL in Indian conditions. Although beating Indian team under home condition is not an easy task, Sri Lanka would not be a push over for the host. In a nutshell, audiences should get ready for a classic T20 series.

Series Result

India Won the 3 Match T20 Series By 2-1

Man Of Series

Ravichandran Ashwin

Start Date


End Date


Host Country



Download as PDF


India vs Sri Lanka 1st T20 Match 2016
Match 1
Date- 09/02/2016
Time - 19:30(Local)

Man of the Match
Chandrasekara Arachchilage Kasun Rajitha
Sri Lanka Venue
Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium
India vs Sri Lanka 2nd T20 Match 2016
Match 2
Date- 12/02/2016
Time - 19:30(Local)

Man of the Match
Shikhar Dhawan
Sri Lanka Venue
JSCA International Cricket Stadium
India vs Sri Lanka 3rd T20 Match 2016
Match 3
Date- 14/02/2016
Time - 19:30(Local)

Man of the Match
Ravichandran Ashwin
Sri Lanka Venue
Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium
India Sri Lanka


India Team Squad
Suresh Raina Mahendra Singh Dhoni Rohit Sharma Ajinkya Rahane
Bhuvneshwar Kumar Singh Ravindra Jadeja Ravichandran Ashwin Yuvraj Singh
Shikhar Dhawan Harbhajan Singh Ashish Nehra Pawan Negi
Manish Pandey Jasprit Bumrah Hardik Pandya

Sri Lanka Team Squad
Tillakaratne Dilshan Dinesh Chandimal Sachithra Senanayake Thisara Perera
Chamara Kapugedera Milinda Siriwardana Dilhara Fernando Seekkuge Prasanna
Niroshan Dickwella Danushka Gunathilaka Dushmantha Chameera Dasun Shanaka
Asela Gunaratne Binura Fernando Jeffrey Vandersay Kasun Rajitha