Manchester Originals Squad 2022, Captain, Coach, Players List

Manchester Originals is one of the eight squads that was founded in 2019 in order to take part in the 100 balls cricket tournament The Hundred every year. The team stands for Manchester, a city located in the North West area of England. Emirates Old Trafford cricket stadium has been picked as the home ground of Manchester Originals to contest their home games. This is an eco-friendly stadium that is designed for a number of events in 1857 and it has the capacity to accommodate around 25,000 people. 

Manchester OriginalsCurrently, Jos Buttler, one of the World’s most destructive batters handles the leadership of the Manchester Originals under the coaching of Simon Katich. The Manchester skipper Jos Buttler is experienced and talented enough to win the match by hitting the ball in 360 but the team could not perform well in the last season and ended up in 6th place in 2021 by winning 2 matches out of 7 with one concluded without any result. In the last session, the team's highest total was 153 for 3 against Welsh Fire and they won that match by 8 wickets,  Joe Clarke was named Man of the Match for his powerful strike of 58 runs off 31 balls. 

Manchester Originals men team faced a total number of 7 matches in the last season and they scored 877 from 638 balls with an average of 125.3 runs per match. Colin Munro was the leading run maker in the last edition of The Hundred in 2021 who made 165 runs from 7 innings with a strike rate of 136.36 and an average of 33. Matt Parkinson was the highest wicket-taker for the Manchester Originals who took 9 wickets in 6 matches. 

In 2021, the pair of Phil Salt and Joe Clark held the record of making the highest partnership of 94 runs for the Originals, both of them contributed 94 runs for the 1st wicket against Welsh Fire. 

In the current season of The Hundred 2022, Manchester Originals will commence their journey by playing against Northern Superchargers at Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester on 5th August 2022. It would be interesting to watch how the team will perform this season under the leadership of Jos Butter in the month of August 2022.

Manchester Originals Squad for The Hundred 2022

The franchise picked up two players (Fred Klaassen, Colin Ackermann) from the Netherlands, and one player from South Africa i.e, Wayne Madsen. As mentioned on the official website of the The Hundred, the following are the Manchester Originals squad names:

  1. Jos Buttler
  2. Steven Finn
  3. Andre Russell
  4. Carlos Brathwaite
  5. Ashton Turner
  6. Sean Abbott
  7. Lockie Ferguson
  8. Colin Ackermann
  9. Tristan Stubbs
  10. Wayne Madsen
  11. Laurie Evans
  12. Oliver Robinson
  13. Joe Clarke
  14. Paul Walter
  15. Phil Salt
  16. Matt Parkinson
  17. Frederick Klaassen
  18. Tom Lammonby
  19. Calvin Harrison
  20. Tom Hartley
  21. Dan Douthwaite

Manchester Originals Team Coach

The team will be coached by former Australian cricketer Simon Katich. He was a left-handed opener who has been the skipper of New South Wales and Derbyshire County Cricket Club. Katich has played around 55+ matches as part of Australian national cricket team. He has even played cricket for Lancashire and represented Western Australia, his birth state. Katich was one of the major players of IPL team Punjab Kings and has always been a distinguished figure in the League. He was recently appointed as the head coach of IPL squad Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Manchester Originals Team Home Venue

The home venue for the Originals is Old Trafford. Old Trafford is one of the oldest and most prestigious stadiums in the world. Founded in 1857, the stadium is located in England’s Greater Manchester. The stadium hosted its first Test match in 1884, first ODI in 1972 and first T20 in 2008. It is the home ground of Lancashire County Cricket Club. Old Trafford stands tall as the second oldest Test venue of England and has hosted World Cup matches 5 times. Apart from cricket, the stadium also hosts musical concerts. 

MO will play 8 league matches in The hundred 2022. Check out all Manchester Originals Match Schedule 2022.

   London Spirit Squad 2022, Captain, Coach, Players List Birmingham Phoenix Squad 2022, Captain, Coach, Players List  
Last Updated on: 13/08/2022

Related Articles