Mumbai Indians vs Kings XI Punjab 7th Match IPL T20 2015

  • Punjab Kings
    20 Overs
    George Bailey
    Virender Sehwa..
    Harbhajan Sing..
    Lasith Malinga
  • Mumbai Indians
    20 Overs
    Harbhajan Sing..
    Jagadeesha Suc..
    Mitchell Johns..
    Axar Patel

Kings XI registers their 1st win in IPL 8 against Mumbai Indians in Mumbai - The 7th match of the Indian Premiere League season 8th returned back to the city of Lights Mumbai. In this match the Mumbai Indians hosted the Kings XI Punjab. The Mumbai team was looking to get the 1st win in the tournament using the home conditions well. It was a same story for the Punjab too as they too ended up in the losing side so was looking to upset the Mumbai side. In this match after winning the toss Mumbai Indians decided to field first.

Murali Vijay and Virender Sehwag gave the Punjab side a great start. They took the bowlers apart in with their explosive batting scoring 60 runs in 7th over. Sehwag after scoring 36 runs in 19 balls lost his wicket. Glenn Maxwell is one of the most sorts after player in the IPL but he failed to score in this match. He scored only 6 runs before losing his wicket. David Miler and George Bailey then came to the rescue as Vijay too lost his wicket after scoring only 35 runs. Bailey turned the tables around scoring 61 runs off 32 balls. Miller too played a small knock of 24 runs in 23 balls. Latish Malinga and Harbhajan Singh took 2 wickets for Mumbai as Punjab ended their innings at 177.

The Mumbai had the home advantage but they couldn’t use it well. The top order collapsed dramatically as Rohit Sharma and Aaron Finch lost their wicket after scoring 0 and 8 runs respectively. Aditya Tare too lost his wicket after scoring only 7 runs. Ambati Raydu and Corey Anderson were the last hope for Mumbai but they too lost their wicket after scoring only 13 and 5 respectively. The team was struggling at 59/6 as all the known batsmen were back in the pavilion. Harbhajan turned the table around as he started hitting the balls freely. He came and took Punjab by storm as he scored his half century in just 19 balls. He along with Jagadeesha Suchith played a flamboyant innings as they scored a century run stand. Harbhajan scored 64 off 23 balls before losing his wicket as Punjab won the match with 18 runs.

Harbhajan Singh won the Yes Bank Maximum sixes while Sandeep Sharma won the HotStar award for his awesome bowling. George Bailey won the man of the match award for his outstanding batting to take the team to a total of 177.