Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders 35th Match IPL 2020

  • Kolkata Knight Riders
    19.6 OVERS
    Shubman Gill
    Eoin Morgan
    T Natarajan
    Vijay Shankar
  • Sun Risers
    18.6 OVERS
    David Warner
    Jonny Bairstow
    Lachie Ferguso
    Shivam Mavi

In IPL 2020, we got to watch an amazing match between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kolkata Knight Riders that went to super over because the match was tied. That was the 35 match of the Indian Premier League 2020 at Abu Dhabi. In this match, KKR made 163 runs on the scoreboard at the loss of 5 wickets. SRH needed 164 runs to win but they could not achieve the target.

From Kolkata Knight Riders, the opening pair of Shubman Gill and Rahul Tripathi initiated the inning. They provided a desired start to the inning and made good runs. KKR got its first wicket in the 6th over when Rahul Tripathi got out at an individual score of 23 runs. However, Gill and Nitish Rana handled the inning well and added valuable runs. In the 12th over, Gill got out, and hence the score of the team was 87/2. In the next over only, Rana also got out. Andre Russell and Eoin Morgan tried to balance the inning, but Russell also got out soon. Kolkata Knight Riders team captain Morgan was joined by Dinesh Karthik, who played fabulous shots across the ground and made not out 29 runs in 14 balls only. Morgan also made 34 runs in 23 balls. At the end of 20 overs, KKR could reach up to 163 at a loss of 5 wickets, and SRH needed to have 164. From SRH, Thangarasu Natarajan was the most successful bowler with 2 wickets.

From Sunrisers Hyderabad, opening pair of Jonny Bairstow and Kane Williamson came to chase the score. Both experienced players played well and made a partnership of 58 runs. In the 7th over, Williamson got out at an individual score of 29. Priyam Garg replaced him and joined Bairstow, but he also soon got out at the score of 70. Jonny Bairstow also lost his wicket on the same score, and hence SRH was under pressure. Captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad David Warner played tactfully and handled one end well, but on the other end, the loss of wicket was continued. At the end of 20 overs, SRH also made 163 at a loss of 6 wickets, and hence the match was tied. From KKR, Lockie Ferguson got the highest 3 wickets.

The match went to super over and that was the 3rd super over in the Indian Premier League in 2020.

David Warner and Jonny Barstow came onto the ground to open and the ball was handed over to Ferguson. David Warner was clean bowled by Ferguson on the first ball. David Warner was looking to play a cut shot towards third man but missed the ball and clean bowled. Afterwards, Abdul Samad came to bat and took 2 runs on the second ball of Lockie Ferguson. Abdul Samad could not handle the next Yorker delivery of Lockie Ferguson and clean bowled. In this way, Ferguson did a great job and took both the wicket with 3 balls left in the over. SRH made only 2 runs in the super over and Kolkata Knight Riders needed only 3 runs which was not a big task for KKR.

Now, Eoin Morgan along with Dinesh Karthik came to bat and Rashid Khan took the responsibility of bowling. Eoin Morgan played a reverse sweep shot at the first ball but could find the gap. It was a dot ball of Rashid Khan and now KKR needed 3 runs from 5 balls. Eoin Morgan played a sweep shot toward deep mid-wicket and took a single. Now, KKR needed 2 runs from 4 balls. Dinesh Karthik played very well on the fine leg and took 2 winning runs for KKR.  KKR achieved this simple and easy target without losing any wicket at 4 balls and won the match with 2 balls left. Ferguson was the hero of the match for Kolkata Knight Riders and he took the 3 wickets in the match and 2 wickets in the super over. That was the first match of Ferguson in Indian premier League 2020. Man of the match award was given to Ferguson. 

Related : Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad Head to Head

Series Name IPL 2020 Schedule Fixtures - Dream11 Indian Premier League T20
Start Date: 18/10/2020 ( Day Night )
Start Time: 15:30 (Local Time)
Stadium Sheikh Zayed Stadium
Playing Teams Sun Risers, Kolkata Knight Riders
Sun Risers Team Squad
Jonny Bairstow, David Warner, Kane Williamson,
Vijay Shankar, Sandeep Sharma, Manish Pandey,
Rashid Khan, Basil Thampi, T Natarajan,
Abdul Samad, Priyam Garg,
Kolkata Knight Riders Team Squad
Eoin Morgan, Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik,
Pat Cummins, Lachie Ferguson, Kuldeep Yadav,
Nitish Rana, Varun Chakravarthy, Shubman Gill,
Shivam Mavi, Rahul Tripathi,