England vs New Zealand ODI Series 2023

The New Zealand cricket team is all set to visit England in order to play 4 ODI matches bilateral series with England in the month of September 2023. The England and Wales Cricket Board has announced the complete schedule of the matches and their venues. This England vs New Zealand ODI series 2023 will be an integral part of the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League 2020 - 2023. All the matches of the Eng vs NZ ODI series 2023 will be hosted in three 4 locations i.e, London, Southampton, Cardiff, and Oval.

The ODI series between England and New Zealand will kick off with the first ODI on 8 September 2023 at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff, then both teams will take the route of Rose Bowl, Southampton in order to play the 2nd ODI on 10 September 20232. The third ODI of the series will be played in The Oval, London on 13 September 2023 and eventually, the series will come to an end with the 4th ODI on 15 September 2023 at Lord's, London.

Both the nations are yet to be decided and declared their ODI squad for the upcoming series but most probably, the current captains of both teams will take the charge. Jos Buttler may play the role of captain for the English team under the coaching of Matthew Mott whereas Kane Williamson will handle the captaincy of New Zealand under the guidance of Gary Stead as a head coach. Currently, England is ranking at the 4th position whereas New Zealand is holding the 3rd position in the ICC Men’s ODI team ranking. Both the teams are very close to each other in the ICC ranking table and will give a tough competition to each other.

England and New Zealand met each other last time in the final competition of the 2019 ODI World Cup where New Zealand lost the match and England became the World Champion. Since then, both the teams have not been involved in any ODI against each other. The last time when New Zealand visited England for the ODI series was in 2015 where England defeated New Zealand and won the series by 3-2. Then in 2017-18, England went to New Zealand for a 5 ODI matches series but again New Zealand could not capture the series and lost it by 3-2 on their own soil. So, these numbers show that New Zealand could not achieve victory in the last 2 ODI series against England and this will be the good opportunity for the Black Caps to win the series against England on England land.

In terms of head to head in ODI, New Zealand and England have fought 91 ODI matches against each other where England won 41 matches and New Zealand achieved victory in 43 matches with 3 matches tied and 4 matches ended without any result. Overall, England has appeared, as of April 2023, 779 ODIs where they achieved the triumph in 392 matches and faced defeat in 348 matches. On the other hand, New Zealand has played 799 matches where they got victory in 368 matches and lost 382 matches with 42 matches ending without any result. So, it is going to be very exciting and interesting to watch how New Zealand will take charge against the English team on the England pitches.

Series Result England Won the series by 3-1
Player Of the Series Dawid Johannes Malan
Start Date 2023-09-08
End Date 2023-09-15
Host Country England


England vs New Zealand 1st ODI Match 2023
Match 1
Date - 2023-09-08
Day - Friday
Time - 12:30(Local)

Player of the Match
Devon Conway
New Zealand Venue
Sophia Gardens
England vs New Zealand 2nd ODI Match 2023
Match 2
Date - 2023-09-10
Day - Sunday
Time - 11:00(Local)

Player of the Match
Liam Livingstone
New Zealand Venue
The Rose Bowl
England vs New Zealand 3rd ODI Match 2023
Match 3
Date - 2023-09-13
Day - Wednesday
Time - 12:30(Local)

Player of the Match
Ben Stokes
New Zealand Venue
The Oval
England vs New Zealand 4th ODI Match 2023
Match 4
Date - 2023-09-15
Day - Friday
Time - 12:30(Local)

Player of the Match
Dawid Malan
New Zealand Venue
Lord's Cricket Ground
England New Zealand


England Team Squad
Joe Root Jos Buttler Chris Woakes Jonny Bairstow
Adil Rashid Ben Stokes Moeen Ali Dawid Malan
Jason Roy Mark Wood Reece Topley David Willey
Liam Livingstone Sam Curran Brydon Carse Harry Brook
Gus Atkinson

New Zealand Team Squad
Tim Southee Trent Boult Tom Latham Adam Milne
Matt Henry Henry Nicholls Will Young Daryl Mitchell
Lockie Ferguson Mitchell Santner Kyle Jamieson Glenn Phillips
Devon Conway Finn Allen Rachin Ravindra Benjamin Lister