Zimbabwe vs Sri Lanka Test Series 2020

The Sri Lanka tour of Zimbabwe was a huge success in the individual performance of both the teams. Both the teams played quality cricket and made the series very entertaining.

The tour began with the first test match on January 19 to 23 of 2020. The first test match between both the teams was played at Harare Sports Club, Harare. Both the teams gave brilliant performances and gave a fair fight back to each other. The Sri Lankan team was led by batsman Dimuth Karunaratne while all-rounder Sean Williams was the captain of Zimbabwe test cricket team. Both the teams got good players with experienced and some new talented players. The first game of the series was absolutely a gem to watch. Zimbabwe team won the toss in both the matches and chose to bat first in both situations. Zimbabwe put a substantial total of 358 batting first, but the Sri Lankan team dominated Zimbabwe team with their unbelievable batting performances and scored 515. In the second Inning Zimbabwe was out for 170 and the target of 14 runs was easily chased by Sri Lanka.

The first test match was all about Sri Lankan all-rounder Angelo Mathews who scored a beautiful double century in first innings of the first match and gave a massive lead to Sri Lankan team. Angelo Mathew's performance was undoubtedly a turning point in the match. With this performance, Sri Lankan team dominated over the Zimbabwe team and won the first test match of the series.

Angelo Mathews was selected as a player of the match for his brilliant batting performance, and Sri Lankan team took the lead in the series. The second test match of the series was held on January 27 to 31 of 2020 at the same venue Harare Sports Club, Harare of the first test match. Zimbabwe team needed to win this test match for series drawn. Again Zimbabwe captain won the toss and chose to bat first.

The openers were unable to give a good start to their team in this match, but experienced player Brendon Taylor of the team stabilized the team and scored a beautiful half-century. The captain Sean Williams played a captain's innings and scored a century. Zimbabwe put a huge total in their first innings and also bowled out Sri Lankan team early, but again Angelo Mathews played a brilliant inning and managed the team collapses and scored a crucial half-century. Sikandar Raza showed brilliant all-round performance for Zimbabwe team in 2nd test match of the series. Zimbabwe declared their 2nd innings on 247 and gave a target of 361 runs to Sri Lankan team. In 2nd inning, Sri Lankan batsman Kushal Mendis played a beautiful knock and scored a century, but unfortunately, the result did not come of the 2nd match. Even the 5 days could not decide the winning team. Therefore the second or last test match of the series was drawn. Sikandar Raza of Zimbabwe got a player of the match award, but the series was won by Sri Lankan team by 1-0.

Angelo Mathews was awarded as the player of the series for his brilliant batting performances in both the matches of the series.

Series Result :

Sri Lanka Won the 2 Match Test Series By 1-0

Player Of the Series :

Angelo Davis Mathews

Start Date :


End Date :


Host Country :


Download :

Download as PDF


Zimbabwe vs Sri Lanka 1st Test Match 2020
Match 1
Start Date- 2020-01-19
Time - 10:00(Local)
End Date- 2020-01-23
Player of the Match
Angelo Mathews
Sri Lanka Venue
Harare Sports Club
Zimbabwe vs Sri Lanka 2nd Test Match 2020
Match 2
Start Date- 2020-01-27
Time - 10:00(Local)
End Date- 2020-01-31
Player of the Match
Sikandar Butt
Sri Lanka Venue
Harare Sports Club
Sri Lanka Zimbabwe


Sri Lanka Team Squad
Lahiru Thirimanne Suranga Lakmal Dimuth Karunaratne Dinesh Chandimal
Angelo Mathews Dhananjaya de Silva Dilruwan Perera Vishwa Fernando
Niroshan Dickwella Lakshan Sandakan Kusal Mendis Kasun Rajitha
Lahiru Kumara Oshada Fernando Lasith Embuldeniya

Zimbabwe Team Squad
Tinotenda Mutombodzi Kyle Jarvis Craig Ervine Regis Chakabva
Brendan Taylor Timycen Maruma Sean Williams Sikandar Butt
Donald Tiripano Kevin Kasuza Victor Nyauchi Ainsley Ndlovu
Carl Mumba Brian Mudzinganyama Prince Masvaure