Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders 49th Match IPL 2020

  • Kolkata Knight Riders
    19.2 OVERS
    Nitish Rana
    Shubman Gill
    Lungi Ngidi
    Ravindra Jadej
  • Chennai Super Kings
    17.2 OVERS
    Ruturaj Gaikwa
    Ambati Rayudu
    Varun Chakrava
    Pat Cummins

The 49th league match of IPL 2020 was played between KKR and CSK. Kolkata team was led by Eoin Morgan while Chennai Team was captained by MS Dhoni. Chennai Super Kings won the toss and chose to field first.

From KKR the opening pair Shubman Gill and Nitish Rana started the inning. They gave a slow yet firm start to the team and made a partnership of 53 runs. In the 8th over bowlers of CSK got success to break the pair as Gill got out at an individual score of 26 runs. Sunil Narine joined Rana but could make 7 runs only and returned to the pavilion. Rinku Singh tried well but got out in the 13th over. He was followed by Rana who made 87 runs. Eoin Morgan and Dinesh Karthik tried to manage the inning, but Morgan got out in the 20th over. CSK bowlers got wickets regularly which restricted the score of Kolkata Knight Riders to 172 runs. Dinesh Karthik made not out 21 runs. From CSK Lungi Ngidi was the most successful bowler with 2 wickets. Mitchell Santner, Karn Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja each got one wicket. For CSK the target was to make 173 runs in 20 overs.

Stats - Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders Head to Head

To chase the score Shane Watson and Ruturaj Gaikwad begin the inning. Watson was once again struggling against the bowling attack of KKR and lost his wicket at an individual score of 14 runs in 8th over. Ambati Rayudu joined Gaikwad to carry the inning forward, and both of them played some quality shots that provided the required momentum to the score. In the 14th over Rayudu also got out and MS Dhoni came to bat but returned to the pavilion in 15th over only after making 1 run. On one end Gaikwad was playing well, but on the other end, KKR bowlers got wickets regularly. In 18th over Gaikwad also got out and hence Sam Curran and Ravindra Jadeja were on pitch to make required runs to win the game. The last over was important when CSK team need 12 runs in 2 balls, and the experience of Jadeja came to rescue the team. In two balls he hit to consecutive sixes which helped CSK win the match by 6 wickets. From KKR Pat Cummins and Varun Chakravarthy each got 2 wickets. Ruturaj Gaikwad was declared as the player of the match for his inning of 72 runs in 53 balls only.  

Series Name IPL 2020 Schedule Fixtures - Dream11 Indian Premier League T20
Start Date: 29/10/2020 ( Day Night )
Start Time: 19:30 (Local Time)
Stadium Dubai International Cricket Stadium
Playing Teams Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders
Chennai Super Kings Team Squad
Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Shane Watson,
Ambati Rayudu, Karn Sharma, Mitchell Santner,
Deepak Chahar, Sam Curran, Lungi Ngidi,
Ruturaj Gaikwad, Narayan Jagadeesan,
Kolkata Knight Riders Team Squad
Eoin Morgan, Sunil Narine, Dinesh Karthik,
Pat Cummins, Lachie Ferguson, Nitish Rana,
Varun Chakravarthy, Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh,
Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Rahul Tripathi,