Chennai Super Kings vs Kings XI Punjab 53rd Match IPL 2020

  • Punjab Kings
    17.1 OVERS
    Deepak Hooda
    KL Rahul
    Lungi Ngidi
    Ravindra Jadej
  • Chennai Super Kings
    9.5 OVERS
    Ruturaj Gaikwa
    Faf du Plessis
    Chris Jordan

The 53rd match of IPL 2020 was played between Chennai Super Kings and Kings XI Punjab on 1st November at Sheikh Zayed Stadium. CSK was captained by MS Dhoni, while KXIP was led by Lokesh Rahul. It was an important match for KXIP to win and qualify for the playoff round. CSK won the toss and chose to field first. 

From Kings XI Punjab, the inning was initiated by KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal, and they offered a firm start to the team in the powerplay. In the 6th over, Agarwal got out at an individual score of 26 runs, and Chris Gayle came to pitch. In the 9th over, Rahul also got out, and hence the score of the team was 62/2. In the 11th over, Nicholas Pooran also returned to the pavilion after making 2 runs. The middle-order batsmen were not able to sustain against the bowling attack from CSK bowlers. Gayle also could not play a big inning and got out in the 12th over after making 12 runs. Mandeep Singh and Deepak Hooda tried to play tactically and carried the inning, but soon Mandeep Singh also got out. Deepak Hooda completed his half-century and played till the completion of 20th over. KXIP made 153 runs in 20 overs at a loss of 6 wickets and gave the target of 154 to CSK, which was not much challenging. From CSK, Lungi Ngidi was the most successful bowler with 3 wickets.

Records - Chennai Super Kings vs Kings XI Punjab Head to Head

To chase the score Ruturaj Gaikwad and FAF du Plessis opened the inning from Chennai Super Kings. They both played well as the target was not that high. In the 10th over, KXIP got its breakthrough when du Plessis got out at an individual score of 48 runs. Ambati Rayudu joined Gaikwad, and they both handled the target smoothly. Against both of these batsmen, the bowling attack from KXIP bowlers was almost edgeless. Ruturaj Gaikwad completed his half-century. He and Rayudu made 154 in 18.5 overs only. Hence CSK won the match by 9 wickets when 7 balls were spared. From KXIP, Chris Jordan only got one wicket. Ruturaj Gaikwad was declared as the player of the match for his inning of not out 62 runs in 49 balls only. This defeat drove KXIP out of the race of playoff as it cannot qualify for the next round due to low score on point table while CSK was already out of the race.

Series Name IPL 2020 Schedule Fixtures - Dream11 Indian Premier League T20
Start Date: 01/11/2020 ( Day Night )
Start Time: 15:30 (Local Time)
Stadium Sheikh Zayed Stadium
Playing Teams Chennai Super Kings, Punjab Kings
Chennai Super Kings Team Squad
Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Faf du Plessis,
Imran Tahir, Ambati Rayudu, Shardul Thakur,
Deepak Chahar, Sam Curran, Lungi Ngidi,
Ruturaj Gaikwad, Narayan Jagadeesan,
Punjab Kings Team Squad
Mohammed Shami, Chris Gayle, Mandeep Singh,
Mayank Agarwal, Jimmy Neesham, KL Rahul,
Nicolas Pooran, Chris Jordan, Deepak Hooda,
Murugan Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi,