Chennai Super Kings vs Rajasthan Royals 37th Match IPL 2020

  • Chennai Super Kings
    17.4 OVERS
    Ravindra Jadej
    Mahendra Singh
    Shreyas Gopal
    Rahul Tewatia
  • Rajasthan Royals
    4.3 OVERS
    Jos Buttler
    Steven Smith
    Deepak Chahar
    Josh Hazlewood

It was the 37th match of IPL 2020 played between CSK and RR. Chennai Super Kings was led by MS Dhoni while Steve Smith captained the team Rajasthan Royals. The match was played on 19th October at Sheikh Zayed Stadium. MS Dhoni won the toss and chose to bat first.

Sam Curran and FAF du Plessis started the inning well, but soon in the 3rd over only, du Plessis got out, and RR got its first breakthrough. He made 10 runs. Shane Watson, another grand player of the team, came to bat, but in the 4th over, he also returned to the pavilion. Ambati Rayudu and Curran tried to manage the inning and played some good shots. In the 9th over, Curran also got out an individual score of 22 runs. Hence the score of the team was 53/3. Captain Dhoni came to bat, but soon he and Rayudu also returned to the pavilion. However, Ravindra Jadeja played some quick shots with Kedar Jadhav, and hence CSK could reach 125 at a loss of 5 wickets. The pitch was slow, and it was believed to have a tough time for RR as well. From Rajasthan, Jofra Archer, Kartik Tyagi, Shreyas Gopal, and Rahul Tevatia got one wicket each. To win, RR needed 126 runs in 20 overs. Looking at the bowling attack from CSK, it was believed to be a challenging task for RR.

To chase the score, Robin Uthappa and Ben Stokes came to pitch, but in the 3rd over only, Stokes got out, and soon Uthappa also followed him. The team score was 28/2. Sanju Samson was expected to play well, but he failed once again. Captain Steve Smith and Joss Buttler played quality cricket with patience, which led the team to score 126 in 17.3 overs only. At one stage, it seemed difficult for RR to balance the inning as they lost 3 wickets quickly, but Smith and Buttler played well and kept the scoreboard running. Buttler made not out 70 runs while Smith scored not out 26 runs. Their tactful shots and calm playing made them get the required runs leaving 15 balls spared. From CSK, Deepak Chahar was the most successful bowler with 2 wickets in his account. Joss Buttler was awarded as the player of the match for his fantastic inning of not out 70 runs in 48 balls only.

Related - Chennai Super Kings vs Rajasthan Royals Head to Head

Series Name IPL 2020 Schedule Fixtures - Dream11 Indian Premier League T20
Start Date: 19/10/2020 ( Day Night )
Start Time: 19:30 (Local Time)
Stadium Sheikh Zayed Stadium
Playing Teams Chennai Super Kings, Rajasthan Royals
Chennai Super Kings Team Squad
Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Shane Watson,
Faf du Plessis, Kedar Jadhav, Piyush Chawla,
Ambati Rayudu, Josh Hazlewood, Shardul Thakur,
Deepak Chahar, Sam Curran,
Rajasthan Royals Team Squad
Jos Buttler, Steven Smith, Ankit Rajpoot,
Robin Uthappa, Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes,
Shreyas Gopal, Rahul Tewatia, Jofra Archer,
Riyan Parag, Kartik Tyagi,