Sri Lanka vs West Indies 2nd T20 Match 2020

  • Sri Lanka
    16.1 OVERS
    Dasun Shanaka
    Angelo Mathews
    Fabian Allen
    Oshane Thomas
  • West Indies
    12.4 OVERS
    Brandon King
    Shimron Hetmye
    Dasun Shanaka
    Lahiru Kumara

The 2nd T20 game of the two-match series between Sri Lanka and West Indies was played on the 6th of March at Pallekele, in Sri Lanka. West Indies won the toss and decided that they will bowl first.

Not a single Sri Lankan batsman could score over 31 runs which was a below-par batting performance. The two top scorers were Dasun Shanaka (31 runs in 24 balls) and Angelo Matthews (23 runs in 22 balls). Fans saw a fantastic bowling performance from the West Indians as none of the bowlers conceded more than 35 runs while bowling 4 overs each. Fast bowler Oshane Thomas delivered 12 dot balls allowing only 2 boundaries in all his 4 overs. Fabian Allen managed to take 2 wickets while trio Sheldon Cottrel, Oshane Thomas, and DJ bravo took a wicket each. The Sri Lankans managed to score 155 runs playing all 20 overs while losing 6 wickets. The West Indians were handed a target of 156 runs.

The best batting performance of the match was delivered by Brandon King. He scored a whopping 43 runs in 21 balls, hitting 6 boundaries and 2 huge sixes. Amongst other batsmen, Shimron Hetmeyer scored decent 43 runs in 42 balls and Andre Russel scored 41 balls in 14 balls hitting 6 sixes. None of the other batsmen managed to score more than a total of 17 runs. A below-par bowling performance was delivered by the Sri Lankans as they allowed too many boundaries to slip. Angelo Matthews, Lahiru Kumara, and Dasun Shanaka managed to take a wicket each. Lasith Malinga conceded 46 runs in 18 balls and allowed 4 sixes to be scored while he bowled which was a disappointment for the Sri Lankan Fans.

The man of the match was awarded to Andre Russel for his outstanding batting performance. 

Series Name Sri Lanka vs West Indies T20 Series 2020
Start Date: 06/03/2020 ( Day Night )
Start Time: 19:00 (Local Time)
Stadium Pallekele International Cricket Stadium
Playing Teams Sri Lanka, West Indies
Sri Lanka Team Squad
Kusal Janith Perera, Angelo Mathews, Lasith Malinga,
Thisara Perera, Shehan Jayasuriya, Dasun Shanaka,
Lakshan Sandakan, Kusal Mendis, Lahiru Kumara,
Avishka Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga,
West Indies Team Squad
Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo,
Lendl Simmons, Sheldon Cotterrell, Nicolas Pooran,
Fabian Allen, Rovman Powell, Brandon King,
Shimron Hetmyer, Oshane Thomas,