New Zealand vs Bangladesh ODI Series 2021

Bangladesh visited New Zealand for the 3 ODIs, 3 T20s matches in the month of March 2021. The tournament commenced with the 3 matches ODI series between New Zealand and Bangladesh. New Zealand was unbeatable by Bangladesh in their all competitions and visitors needed to do something different to register a win. New Zealand was playing without Kane Williamson & Ross Taylor and Bangladesh also missed Shakib Al Hasan. The real battle was between New Zealand’s fast bowlers and Bangladesh batters.

The first ODI was played at University Oval, Dunedin on 20 March 2021. New Zealand decided to chase the target after winning the toss. New Zealand was in the attacking mood with Trent Boult as he dismissed Tamim and Soumya Sarkar in the same over. Afterward, New Zealand did not give Bangladesh a chance to handle the conditions. Bangladesh completely surrendered in front of New Zealand bowlers and could make only 131 runs and bowled out in 41.5 overs. Boult had done his job and also got nice support from other bowlers. The target was not so big for the host and short-lived. New Zealand did not take enough time and achieve the target in 21.2 overs only. Henry Nicholls remained not out and struck 49 runs. New Zealand won the 1st ODI of the series by 8 wickets and led the series by 1-0. Trent Boult became the Man of the Match.

The 2nd ODI was played at Hagley Oval, Christchurch on 23 March 2021. New Zealand again decided to bowl first after winning the toss. Bangladesh players needed to do their best to change things. Bangladesh did better than the last game and scored a decent total of 271 runs on the scoreboard. Tamim and Mithun were fabulous with the bat and scored 78, 73 runs. While chasing, New Zealand lost some early wickets but did not take much time to stand back in the game. Devon Conway and Tom Latham made the target easy achievable. Tom Latham struck his 5th century that helped the Kiwi to attain the target in 48.2 overs. New Zealand won the 2nd ODI by 5 wickets and Tom Latham was Man of the Match. 

The 3rd ODI was played at Basin Reserve, Wellington on 26 March 2021. New Zealand went to bat first after winning the toss. Despite losing 3 wickets at 57 runs, New Zealand had put a big total of 318 runs on the scoreboard. Devon Conway and Daryl Mitchell struck their maiden century in ODI that helped the Kiwi to reach 318 total. On the other hand, Bangladesh again failed to show some good batting skills. They did a bit well in the 2nd ODI but it was little in front of Kiwi at home. Excluding Mahmudullah, who made some effort and added 76 runs, no other player could do well and bowled out at 154. New Zealand won the 3rd ODI by 164 runs and won the series. Devon Conway was the Man of the Match.

New Zealand won the NZ vs Ban ODI series 2021 by 3-0 and Devon Conway was named Man of the Series.

Devon Conway was the top scorer with 225 runs and James Neesham was the highest wicket-taker with 7 wickets in 3 matches ODI series between New Zealand and Bangladesh.

Series Result

New Zealand Won the 3 Match ODI Series By 3-0

Man Of Series

Devon Philip Conway

Start Date


End Date


Host Country

New Zealand

Match schedule

Download as PDF
New Zealand vs Bangladesh 1st ODI Match 2021
Match 1
Date- 20/03/2021
Time - 11:00(Local)

New Zealand
Man Of The Match - Trent Alexander Boult
Bangladesh Venue
University Oval
New Zealand vs Bangladesh 2nd ODI Match 2021
Match 2
Date- 23/03/2021
Time - 14:00(Local)

New Zealand
Man Of The Match - Thomas William Maxwell Latham
Bangladesh Venue
Hagley Oval
New Zealand vs Bangladesh 3rd ODI Match 2021
Match 3
Date- 26/03/2021
Time - 11:00(Local)

New Zealand
Man Of The Match - Devon Philip Conway
Bangladesh Venue
Basin Reserve

Playing Teams
Bangladesh New Zealand
Bangladesh Team Squad
Tamim Iqbal Rubel Hossain Mahmudullah Mushfiqur Rahim
Al-Amin Hossain Soumya Sarkar Taskin Ahmed Mustafizur Rahman
Litton Das Mosaddek Hossain Nasum Ahmed Mohammad Mithun
Hasan Mahmud Mahedi Hasan Mehidy Hasan Najmul Hossain Shanto
Afif Hossain Mohammad Naim Mohammad Saifuddin Shoriful Islam

New Zealand Team Squad
Ross Taylor Tim Southee Trent Boult Tom Latham
Martin Guptill Jimmy Neesham Matt Henry Henry Nicholls
Will Young Daryl Mitchell Mitchell Santner Kyle Jamieson
Mark Chapman Devon Conway