Australia vs South Africa T20 Series 2014 Schedule

South Africa after the New Zealand moved to Australia for a T20 and an ODI series to be played between the two teams. The two teams were fighting for the KFC cup. Both the teams in the past had a record of producing some of the best matches in the world of cricket and the fans expectation were similar in this series too.

The first match was played at the Adelaide Oval and after winning the toss the Australians decided to bat first. the top order while batting first failed to give the team a good start. They scored 48 runs in 7.3 overs but lost 3 wickets in the process. The 4th wicket also fell in the 11th over at the score of 67. Shane Watson and James Faulkner were the best batsmen for the team as they scored 47 and 41 runs respectively. They together took the score to 144 in 20 overs. Kyle Abbott took 3 wickets in the match giving runs at an economy of 5.25. While chasing the score of 145 Quinton de Kock scored 46 runs while Rilee Rossouw scored 78 runs to take South Africa to an easy victory.

The 2nd T20 match was played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in this match the South Africans won the toss and decided to bat first. while batting first the team was in trouble as scoring runs were difficult. Jean-Paul Duminy was the lone player to score 49 runs as the team was able to score only 101 runs in 20 overs. James Faulkner took 3 wickets in the match. chasing a small target the Australians got off to a flier scoring runs at the rate of 10 per over. Aaron Finch and Shane Watson made most of the runs scoring 44 and 30 runs respectively. With such batting force the team was able to win the game in just 13 overs. The win in the match also meant that the home team levelled the series back to 1-1.

The 3rd and the final T20 of the series was played in the Sydney Cricket Ground. In this match after winning the toss the Australians decided to field first. Batting first the visitors got off to a great start as openers Quinton de Kock and Reeza Hendricks scored 48 and 49 runs respectively. David Miller came onto the crease in the 12th over and remained their till the end of the game. he scored 34 runs and was the lone player from the middle order to score runs else the others in search of quick runs lost their wicket as the team lost a good start and managed to score only 145 runs in 20 overs. James Faulkner took 3 wickets in the match. The Australian chase was a dramatic one as the openers provided a quick start to the game. They scored 40 runs in 4.4 overs as Aaron Finch then lost his wicket after reaching a score of 33 runs. the team reached the 100 run mark in the 13th over and was quite easily cruising towards a win. But a sudden change in the end made the match interesting as wickets kept falling easily. Cameron White was the man of the hour for Australia as calmly he scored 41 runs and ensured that the team crossed the line with 1 ball remaining. Thus with this win the home team sealed the series 2-1 and lifted the KFC cup. James Faulkner was rightly named as the man of the Series for his all-round show.

Series Result

Australia won the series by 2-1

Start Date


End Date


Match schedule

Download as PDF
Australia vs South Africa 1st T20 Match 2014
Match 1
Date- 05/11/2014
Time - 19:05(Local)

Man Of The Match - Rilee Roscoe Rossouw
South Africa Venue
Adelaide Oval
Australia vs South Africa 2nd T20 Match 2014
Match 2
Date- 07/11/2014
Time - 19:35(Local)

Man Of The Match - Cameron John Boyce
South Africa Venue
Melbourne Cricket Ground
Australia vs South Africa 3rd T20 Match 2014
Match 3
Date- 09/11/2014
Time - 19:35(Local)

Man Of The Match - Cameron Leon White
South Africa Venue
ANZ Stadium

Playing Teams
South Africa Australia
South Africa Team Squad
Imran Tahir Robin Peterson Kyle John Abbott Farhaan Behardien
Quinton de Kock Ryan McLaren David Miller JP Duminy
Wayne Parnell David Wiese Marchant de Lange Rilee Rossouw
Reeza Hendricks Kagiso Rabada

Australia Team Squad
Glenn Maxwell Shane Watson Cameron White Kane Richardson
James Faulkner Aaron Finch Doug Bollinger Ben Cutting
Pat Cummins Nic Maddinson Nathan Reardon Cameron Boyce
Ben Dunk Sean Abbott