Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Capitals 42nd Match IPL 2020

  • Kolkata Knight Riders
    19.6 OVERS
    Nitish Rana
    Sunil Narine
    Anrich Nortje
    Kagiso Rabada
  • Delhi Capitals
    19.5 OVERS
    Shreyas Iyer
    Rishabh Pant
    Varun Chakrava
    Pat Cummins

It was the 42nd match of IPL 2020 played on 24th October, where Kolkata countered Delhi. From Kolkata, Eoin Morgan handled the captainship while Delhi was led by Shreyas Iyer. It was played at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, where DC won the toss and chose to field first. 

The inning of Kolkata Knight Riders was begun by Shubman Gill and Nitish Rana. They started well, but soon in the 2nd over only, Gill got out. Rana was joined by Rahul Tripathi, who also went back to the pavilion in the 6th over. On one end, Rana was playing well, but on the other side, no batsmen were able to sustain on the pitch. Dinesh Karthik also failed once again and could make 3 runs only. However, Sunil Narine played well with 64 runs in 32 balls only. Captain Eoin Morgan also added 17 runs, and hence at the end of 20 overs, KKR made 194 runs at a loss of 6 wickets. From Delhi Capitals Nortje, Rabada and Stoinis, each got 2 wickets. 

In the second inning from the Delhi Capitals side, Ajinkya Rahane and Shikhar Dhawan came as opening pair, but in the very first ball of the first over of this inning, Rahane got out, and problems for DC got started. Shikhar Dhawan and Shreyas Iyer tried to carry the inning forward, but in the 3rd over, Dhawan also got out, and Rishabh Pant came in for batting. He and Iyer balanced the inning, but in the 12th over, Pant also got out, and Hetmyer came to bat. He made 10 quick runs before returning to the pavilion. The middle order of DC collapsed badly against the quality bowling attack from KKR. In the 14th over, with the fall of Iyer's wicket, who made 47 runs, it was believed that DC has surrendered now. Marcus Stoinis and Axar Patel also got out quickly. Rabada and Ashwin also could do nothing. Soon at the end of 20 overs, the inning of DC was over where they could make 135 runs at a loss of 9 wickets. From KKR, Varun Chakravarthy was the most successful bowler who got 5 wickets in his spell of 4 overs. KKR won the match by 59 runs. Against the bowling of Chakravarthy, no batsmen could play well, and that is why this successful team of IPL 2020 also lost the match. 

The award of player of the match was gone to Varun Chakravarthy for his magical bowling.

Also Read - KKR vs DC Head to Head in IPL

Series Name IPL 2020 Schedule Fixtures - Dream11 Indian Premier League T20
Start Date: 24/10/2020 ( Day Night )
Start Time: 15:30 (Local Time)
Stadium Sheikh Zayed Stadium
Playing Teams Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Capitals
Kolkata Knight Riders Team Squad
Eoin Morgan, Sunil Narine, Dinesh Karthik,
Pat Cummins, Lachie Ferguson, Nitish Rana,
Varun Chakravarthy, Prasidh Krishna, Shubman Gill,
Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Rahul Tripathi,
Delhi Capitals Team Squad
Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan,
Axar Patel, Marcus Stoinis, Kagiso Rabada,
Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Shimron Hetmyer,
Anrich Nortje, Tushar Deshpande,