India vs South Africa T20 Series 2022

The governing body of Indian cricket, BCCI has confirmed that they are all set to welcome South Africa in the month of September 2022 for a bilateral series of 3 T20 matches between both teams.The decided venues for all five matches are Thiruvananthapuram, Guwahati, and Indore.

India vs South Africa T20 series will begin on 28th September 2022 with the first match which will be contested at Greenfield International Stadium. Barsapara Cricket Stadium will then host the 2nd T20 on 2nd October 2022, the third T20I will be played at Holkar Cricket Stadium on 4th October 2022.

Considering the T20 World Cup 2022, the T20 series between India and South will be beneficial to prepare themselves for the World Championship in Australia. Rohit Sharma will lead the team while Temba Bavuma will take command of South Africa under the guidance of Mark Boucher. As of Sept 2022, South Africa stands at the 4th position, on the other hand, India is listed at the top position in the ICC T20 Team ranking.

It is interesting to know that India played their maiden T20 international match against South Africa at Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg on 1 December 2006 where India defeated South Africa by 6 wickets and Dinesh Karthik was the Man of the Match. In terms of Ind vs SA head to head in T20, both the teams have faced each other on 15 occasions in which India won 9 T20 whereas South Africa got victory 6 times. This shows that India has got a better winning percentage and ruled over SA in T20 international.

Overall, the Indian team has taken part in the 178 T20 international matches in which they have won 113 matches and lost 57 T20I. On the other hand, South Africa contested 157 T20I in which they won 91 matches and lost 63 matches. South Africa has never been able to reach the final of the T20I World Cup while India has become the T20 World Champions in 2007, so it would be interesting to see how both the teams will perform against each other in the month of June.

Series Result India won the series by 2-1
Player Of the Series Suryakumar Ashok Yadav
Start Date 2022-09-28
End Date 2022-10-04
Host Country India
Download Download as PDF


India vs South Africa 1st T20 Match 2022
Match 1
Date - 2022-09-28
Time - 19:00(Local)

Player of the Match
Arshdeep Singh
South Africa Venue
Greenfield International Stadium
India vs South Africa 2nd T20 Match 2022
Match 2
Date - 2022-10-02
Time - 19:00(Local)

Player of the Match
KL Rahul
South Africa Venue
Barsapara Cricket Stadium
India vs South Africa 3rd T20 Match 2022
Match 3
Date - 2022-10-04
Time - 19:00(Local)

Player of the Match
Rilee Rossouw
South Africa Venue
Holkar Cricket Stadium
India South Africa


India Team Squad
Rohit Sharma Mohammed Shami Virat Kohli Ravichandran Ashwin
Umesh Yadav Dinesh Karthik Axar Patel Suryakumar Yadav
Yuzvendra Chahal Harshal Patel Jasprit Bumrah KL Rahul
Deepak Hooda Deepak Chahar Shreyas Iyer Rishabh Pant
Arshdeep Singh Mohammed Siraj

South Africa Team Squad
Quinton de Kock David Miller Wayne Parnell Dwaine Pretorius
Temba Bavuma Keshav Maharaj Rilee Rossouw Reeza Hendricks
Tristan Stubbs Andile Phehlukwayo Tabraiz Shamsi Kagiso Rabada
Heinrich Klaasen Bjorn Fortuin Lungi Ngidi Aiden Markram
Anrich Nortje Marco Jansen