The Ashes Series 2021-2022

The Ashes series is the series of the 5 test matches which is played between Australia and England. For 2021-2022, Australia will welcome England to play the Ashes series and it will be held from 8 December 2021 to 18 January 2022. This series will be a component of the 2021–2023 ICC World Test Championship. Last time, the series has been ended up as a draw and currently Australia is the defending champion of the Ashes series for the year 2017-18.

The Ashes series is one of the oldest test matches tournaments between Australia and England which was started in 1882-83. The current edition of the Ashes series 2021-22 will consist of the 5 test matches and the series will commence with the first test which will he contested at The Gabba, Brisbane on from 8 to12 December 2021. The second test of the series will be held at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide from 16 to 20 December 2021. The third test will be fought at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne from 26 to 30 December 2021. The location of 4 test will be Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney which will be played from 5 to 9 January 2022. The fifth test match between both the team will be held at Perth Stadium, Perth from 14 to 18 Januray 2022. This is the schedule of the Ashes series fixed by the cricket governing body of both the nations.

Joe Root will play the role of captain for the English cricket team and Australia will enter the contest under the leadership of Tim Paine. Currently, the England skipper Joe Root holds the top position in the ICC Test player ranking and Tim Paine is far behind him as he is at the 39 position. But Australia have the players like Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschange, David Warner who are in good form and falls under the top 10 test players of ICC ranking. In ICC Test team ranking, Australia is at the number 3rd position and England is at 4th position, so there is no big difference but playing against Australia at their homeland is not going to be an easy task for England.

As of Novermber 2021, 335 matches have been played between Australia and England in the Ashes series since its beginning in 1882-1883 in which Australia got the triumph in 136 tests and England was winner in 108 test matches, that shows Australia have dominated and ruled over England in the Ashes. Australia also holds the record of winning the more series as compared to England. There are 6 moments when the Ashes series have been drawn and Australia holded the Ashes 5 times and England only one time.

England got the biggest achievement in the year 1886, 1977 and 2013 when England were unbeaten in the Ashes and defeated Australia by 3–0. Last time, both the team fought for the Ashes in 2019 but it was ended up without any result and series was drawn by 2-2. It would be interesting to watch how England will perform against Australia at Kangaroo’s home ground.

Series Result Australia Won the 5 Match The Ashes Test Series By 4-0
Player Of the Series Travis Michael Head
Start Date 2021-12-08
End Date 2022-01-18
Host Country Australia
Download Download as PDF


Australia vs England 1st Test Match 2021
Match 1
Start Date- 2021-12-08
Time - 10:00(Local)
End Date- 2021-12-12
Player of the Match
Travis Head
England Venue
Brisbane Cricket Ground
Australia vs England 2nd Test Match 2021
Match 2
Start Date- 2021-12-16
Time - 14:30(Local)
End Date- 2021-12-20
Player of the Match
Marnus Labuschagne
England Venue
Adelaide Oval
Australia vs England 3rd Test Match 2021
Match 3
Start Date- 2021-12-26
Time - 10:30(Local)
End Date- 2021-12-30
Player of the Match
Scott Boland
England Venue
Melbourne Cricket Ground
Australia vs England 4th Test Match 2022
Match 4
Start Date- 2022-01-05
Time - 10:30(Local)
End Date- 2022-01-09
Player of the Match
Usman Khawaja
England Venue
Sydney Cricket Ground
Australia vs England 5th Test Match 2022
Match 5
Start Date- 2022-01-14
Time - 13:30(Local)
End Date- 2022-01-18
Player of the Match
Travis Head
England Venue
Bellerive Oval
Australia England


Australia Team Squad
David Warner Steven Smith Mitchell Starc Nathan Lyon
Usman Khawaja Michael Neser Timothy Paine Pat Cummins
Josh Hazlewood Travis Head Scott Boland Marnus Labuschagne
Marcus Harris Mitchell Swepson Jhye Richardson Alex Carey
Cameron Green

England Team Squad
Joe Root Jos Buttler Chris Woakes James Anderson
Jonny Bairstow Stuart Broad Ben Stokes Dawid Malan
Mark Wood Sam Billings Rory Burns Craig Overton
Oliver Robinson Daniel Lawrence Zak Crawley Dominic Bess
Ollie Pope Jack Leach Haseeb Hameed