ICC World Test Championship Final 2021

The ICC has announced the dates for the final of the inaugural edition of the ICC World Test Championship (WTC). The final will be held from June 18 to June 22 with June 23 acting as a reserve day in Southampton, England.

India and New Zealand are the top two teams to qualify for the final of the championship. The Indian team has finished the league phase at the top position with 520 points followed by the New Zealand team with 420 points. Virat Kohli will lead the Indian team and Kane Williamson will handle the captaincy of the New Zealand team. Indian team is very strong and playing quality cricket with great confidence. The New Zealand team is also very balanced and they have both, well-settled bowling and batting. New Zealand team defeated the Indian team last time when both met on the knockout stage of ICC events in ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.

The Indian team will try to take revenge by winning the maiden Test Championship. The final is in England and seam bowlers will get movement and help from the surface. The New Zealand team has quality seam bowlers. Left-arm bowler Trent Boult can be a big threat to Indian batsman. Rohit Sharma will play as an opener in the Indian team and Hardik Pandya will also be available. Hardik Pandya will play a crucial role in England as he can bowl medium pace bowling and he has a fifer in front of his name in England.

Kane Williamson will have a huge batting responsibility for the New Zealand team. Kyle Jamieson is also a star performer for the Kiwi side. He has outstanding test records. Rishabh Pant will play as a keeper-batsman for India. This young wicket-keeper batsman is in great form. He was the architect in the series victory against Australia and he has fantastic away from home stats. The Indian team is favourite to win the title but the New Zealand team always surprises everyone with their game.

Series Result New Zealand Won the ICC World Test Championship 2021
Start Date 2021-06-18
End Date 2021-06-22
Host Country England
Download Download as PDF


New Zealand vs India ICC World Test Championship Final 2021
Match 1
Start Date- 2021-06-18
Time - 10:00(Local)
End Date- 2021-06-22
New Zealand
Player of the Match
Kyle Jamieson
India Venue
The Rose Bowl
India New Zealand


India Team Squad
Ishant Sharma Rohit Sharma Mohammed Shami Cheteshwar Pujara
Ajinkya Rahane Ravindra Jadeja Virat Kohli Ravichandran Ashwin
Wriddhiman Saha Umesh Yadav Axar Patel Mayank Agarwal
Hanuma Vihari Jasprit Bumrah KL Rahul Shardul Thakur
Rishabh Pant Washington Sundar Shubman Gill Mohammed Siraj

New Zealand Team Squad
Kane Williamson BJ Watling Neil Wagner Ross Taylor
Tim Southee Trent Boult Tom Latham Matt Henry
Henry Nicholls Will Young Colin de Grandhomme Tom Blundell
Ajaz Patel Kyle Jamieson Devon Conway