West Indies vs Sri Lanka Test Series 2021

Sri Lanka visited West Indies in the year 2021 for playing 2 Tests, 3 ODIs, and 3 T20s matches series from 3 March to 2 April 2021. West Indies defeated Sri Lanka in the ODIs and T20s series then there was a 2 Test matches series started with the first Test match on 21 March 2021. In the first Test, West Indies took the fielding after winning the toss as they believed that it was not going to be easy for batsmen for the first 1-2 hours due to some moisture on the pitch. Sri Lanka had already lost the last two series and wanted to come back. Pathum Nissanka made his Test debut for Sri Lanka in that match.

Sri Lanka once again failed in the first inning to give a good start and lost wickets at regular intervals. They had just touched 169 runs in the first inning and the entire squad was bowled out in 69.4 overs only. No batsmen excluding Lahiru Thirimanne remained on the crease for a long time, he contributed 70 runs for his team. West Indies were awesome with the ball especially Jason Holder who took 5 wickets of the visitors. West Indies was also not so good in the first inning as they had just made 271 runs and got the lead of 102 runs. Suranga Lakmal for Sri Lanka took 5 wickets. Then Sri Lanka in the second inning did a fabulous job and looked in a different color of attitude. They struck 476 runs in the second inning, the batsmen played nice especially Pathum Nissanka who struck a century, and then Oshada Fernando’ 91 runs, Niroshan Dickwella contributed 96 runs. West Indies got the target of 375 runs. West Indies wanted to save the match and they did it well. Nkrumah Bonner added unbeaten 113 runs that directed the game to a draw. West Indies made 236 runs for 4 wickets in 100 overs. The first test of the West Indies vs Sri Lanka Test series 2021 was drawn. Nkrumah Bonner was named Man of the Match.

The second Test of the WI vs SL test series 2021 was played at Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua from Mar 29-Apr 02 2021. Sri Lanka took bowling after winning the toss. Despite not getting a good start, Kraigg Brathwaite was standing on the crease and struck 126 runs that helped them to reach 354. Rahkeem Cornwall also contributed important 73 runs but Sri Lankan bowlers looked in excellent form especially Suranga Lakmal and Dushmantha Chameera. Both of them took a total of 7 wickets. In the first inning, Sri Lanka once again struggled with the bat and lost some early wickets. Lahiru Thirimanne and Pathum Nissanka tried to handle and contributed 55, 51 runs that helped them to reach 258. Sri Lanka was bowled out at 258 runs only and was trailing by 96 runs. In the second inning, West Indies added 280 runs on the scoreboard in which Kraigg Brathwaite contributed 85 runs, Kyle Mayers’ 55 runs, and Jason Holder’s unbeaten 71 runs. Sri Lanka declared at 280 and set the target of 377 for Sri Lanka. 79 overs were left and Sri Lanka wanted to spend time on the crease instead of making an extra effort. Sri Lanka managed the second inning and made 193 runs for 2 wickets and the second match was also drawn.

The 2 Test matches series between West Indies and Sri Lanka was drawn and both the captains shared the trophy. Kraigg Brathwaite was named Man of the Match for the 2nd Test match and Suranga Lakmal was the Man of the Series.

Lahiru Thirimanne became the highest scorer with his 240 runs and Suranga Lakmal was the highest wicket-taker with 11 wickets in the series.

Series Result

2 Match Test Series Drawn By 0-0

Man Of Series

Ranasinghe Arachchige Suranga Lakmal

Start Date


End Date


Host Country

West Indies

Match schedule

Download as PDF
West Indies vs Sri Lanka 1st Test Match 2021
Match 1
Start Date- 21/03/2021
Time - 10:00(Local)
End Date- 25/03/2021
West Indies
Man Of The Match - Nkrumah Eljego Bonner
Sri Lanka Venue
Sir Vivian Richards Stadium
West Indies vs Sri Lanka 2nd Test Match 2021
Match 2
Start Date- 29/03/2021
Time - 10:00(Local)
End Date- 02/04/2021
West Indies
Man Of The Match - Kraigg Clairmonte Brathwaite
Sri Lanka Venue
Sir Vivian Richards Stadium

Playing Teams
Sri Lanka West Indies
Sri Lanka Team Squad
Lahiru Thirimanne Suranga Lakmal Dimuth Karunaratne Dinesh Chandimal
Angelo Mathews Dhananjaya de Silva Vishwa Fernando Niroshan Dickwella
Dushmantha Chameera Dasun Shanaka Pathum Nissanka Oshada Fernando
Lasith Embuldeniya Wanindu Hasaranga Roshen Silva Asitha Fernando
Ramesh Mendis

West Indies Team Squad
Kemar Roach Darren Bravo Shannon Gabriel Jason Holder
Rahkeem Cornwall Kyle Mayers Nkrumah Bonner Jermaine Blackwood
Kraigg Brathwaite Jomel Warrican Hayden Walsh Alzarri Joseph
John Campbell Joshua Da Silva