New Zealand vs Bangladesh T20 Series 2021

Bangladesh visited New Zealand for the 3 ODIs and 3T20s matches series in the month of March 2021. After the ODI series, the 3 matches T20 series started with the first T20I played at Seddon Park, Hamilton on 28 March 2021. In the first T20I, New Zealand decided to bat first after winning the toss. New Zealand lost its opener, Finn Allen, very soon but then Conway took charge and handled the situation very well with Martin Guptill. Conway made unbeaten 92 runs that helped the team to reach 210 total. Convey and Will Young built a crucial partnership of 105 runs for the 3rd wicket. Bangladesh started well but did not look consistent and lost wickets at regular intervals. The Bangladesh squad was bowled out at a total of 144 runs only and finally, it was an awesome start for New Zealand. New Zealand won the 1st T20I by 66 runs and Conway was the Man of the Match.

In the second T20I, Bangladesh won the toss and invited the host to bat first. Guptill and Fin Allen came out to the middle to open and gave a good start. Bangladesh got some grip in the middle of the match but Glenn Phillips and Daryl Mitchell changed the direction of the game. Glenn Phillips struck 58 and Daryl Mitchell’s 34 from just 16 balls took the game away from visitors. Due to rain, the target was set to 171 runs for visitors as per the DLS method. Bangladesh’s Soumya Sarkar did an excellent job and completed his fifty from just 25 balls. But after the dismissal of Sarkar, no other batsmen could do well and they could make only 142 runs. New Zealand won the match by 28 runs and sealed the series by 2-0. Glenn Phillips was named Man of the Match.

In the third T20 match of the series, the match was shortened to 10 overs for both teams. Bangladesh decided to bowl first after winning the toss. New Zealand got a nice start by Finn Allen and Guptill, both had struck 85 runs for the 1st wicket and set the target of 142 runs for Bangladesh. Bangladesh needed to do something different to achieve the target at the required run rate of over 14. But Tim Southee dismissed Soumya Sarkar and Liton Das in a single over and took the game away from Bangladesh. Bangladesh could make only 76 runs in 9.3 overs and New Zealand won the last match of the New Zealand vs Bangladesh T20 series 2021 by 3-0.

Finn Allen was the Man of the Match and Glenn Phillips became the Man of the Series. 

Devon Conway was the highest scorer with his 107 runs and Tim Southee became the most successful bowler with 6 wickets in the series.

Series Result

New Zealand Won the 3 Match T20 Series By 3-0

Man Of Series

Glenn Dominic Phillips

Start Date


End Date


Host Country

New Zealand

Match schedule

Download as PDF
New Zealand vs Bangladesh 1st T20 Match 2021
Match 1
Date- 28/03/2021
Time - 14:00(Local)

New Zealand
Man Of The Match - Devon Philip Conway
Bangladesh Venue
Seddon Park
New Zealand vs Bangladesh 2nd T20 Match 2021
Match 2
Date- 30/03/2021
Time - 19:00(Local)

New Zealand
Man Of The Match - Glenn Dominic Phillips
Bangladesh Venue
McLean Park
New Zealand vs Bangladesh 3rd T20 Match 2021
Match 3
Date- 01/04/2021
Time - 19:00(Local)

New Zealand
Man Of The Match - Finnley Hugh Allen
Bangladesh Venue
Eden Park
Playing Teams
Bangladesh New Zealand
Bangladesh Team Squad
Tamim Iqbal Rubel Hossain Mahmudullah Mushfiqur Rahim
Al-Amin Hossain Soumya Sarkar Taskin Ahmed Mustafizur Rahman
Liton Das Mosaddek Hossain Nasum Ahmed Mohammad Mithun
Hasan Mahmud Mahedi Hasan Mehidy Hasan Najmul Hossain Shanto
Afif Hossain Mohammad Naim Mohammad Saifuddin Shoriful Islam

New Zealand Team Squad
Tim Southee Martin Guptill Adam Milne Ish Sodhi
Todd Astle Hamish Bennett Will Young Daryl Mitchell
Lachie Ferguson Glenn Phillips Mark Chapman Devon Conway
Finn Allen