South Africa vs England T20 Series 2020

The T20 International series was a huge success for both the teams. Both the teams played beautiful cricket and gave their best to win the series. England team won the series by 2-1 and defeated South African team in T20 International in South Africa.

The 1st match of the T20 International series was played on February 12, Wednesday at East London, South Africa. Quinton De Kock was the Skipper of South African team, and Eoin Morgan was the captain of England team. England captain won the toss and decided to field first. Opener T Bavuma scored the most 43 runs for South African team. South Africa made 177 runs in their 20 over. English opener Jason Roy played explosive inning and scored 70 runs in just 38 balls. Captain Morgan also scored a brilliant half-century and made 52 runs in 34 balls. England was chasing the target with perfect calculations and was in the game. 7 runs were needed in the last 6 balls of the match. South Africa won the 1st match of the series by only 1 run. Ngidi took most 3 wickets for South Africa and was also awarded as the player of the match for his match-winning bowling performance. South Africa took an early lead in the series by 1-0.

The 2nd match of the series was held on February 14, Friday at Kingsmead, Durban, South Africa. South African team was leading in series by 1-0. It was a must-win match for England team to stay alive in series. South Africa won the toss and chose to field first. England's openers did not give a solid start to the team. Ben Stokes scored the most 47 runs for England. M. Ali finishes the innings in style with brilliant 39 runs in just 11 balls. L Ngidi again took the most 3 wickets for South African side. England put a total of 204 runs in their 20 over. South Africa could not chase down the target, and left 3 runs short by victory. England won the 2nd game of the series by 2 runs and leveled the series by 1-1. Moeen Ali was selected as player of the match for his brilliant innings of 11- ball 39 runs.

The 3rd or deciding match of the series was played on February 16, Sunday, at SuperSport Park, Centurion in South Africa. The series was leveled by 1-1. South African skipper Quinton De Kock won the toss and decided to bat first. The openers gave a solid start to the team and made an opening partnership of 84 runs. Klaasen played innings of 66 runs in just 32 balls and helped the team to put a good score on board. Miller finished the inning in style and helped the team to make 222 runs in 20 over. From England, Wicketkeeper-batsman Buttler and Batsman Bairstow made a good partnership for the 2nd wicket of 91 runs, and with that, England won the decider match as well as series by 2-1. Captain Morgan was the player of the match in the last and decider match.

Series Result :

England won the series by 2-1.

Player Of the Series :

Eoin Morgan

Start Date :


End Date :


Host Country :

South Africa

Download :

Download as PDF


South Africa vs England 1st T20 Match 2020
Match 1
Date- 2020-02-12
Time - 10:00(Local)

South Africa
Player of the Match
Lungi Ngidi
England Venue
Buffalo Park
South Africa vs England 2nd T20 Match 2020
Match 2
Date- 2020-02-14
Time - 14:00(Local)

South Africa
Player of the Match
Moeen Ali
England Venue
South Africa vs England 3rd T20 Match 2020
Match 3
Date- 2020-02-16
Time - 16:00(Local)

South Africa
Player of the Match
Eoin Morgan
England Venue
SuperSport Park
South Africa England


South Africa Team Squad
Dale Steyn Quinton de Kock David Miller Dwaine Pretorius
Rassie van der Dussen Temba Bavuma JJ Smuts Petrus van Biljon
Reeza Hendricks Beuran Hendricks Andile Phehlukwayo Tabraiz Shamsi
Sisanda Magala Heinrich Klaasen Bjorn Fortuin Lungi Ngidi

England Team Squad
Eoin Morgan Jos Buttler Jonny Bairstow Adil Rashid
Joseph Denly Ben Stokes Chris Jordan Moeen Ali
Dawid Malan Jason Roy Mark Wood Sam Curran
Jofra Archer Tom Curran Matt Parkinson