Sydney Thunder vs Adelaide Strikers 51st Match Big Bash League BBL 2021

  • Adelaide Strikers
    19.1 OVERS
    Travis Head
    Phil Salt
    Brendan Dogget
    Adam Milne
  • Sydney Thunder
    16.4 OVERS
    Usman Khawaja
    Ben Cutting
    Michael Neser
    Peter Siddle

The 51st match of the KFC Big Bash League 2020/21 was fought between Sydney Thunder and Adelaide Strikers at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide on 24 Jan 2021. The Strikers won the toss and took the decision to bat first. Alex Carey and Jake Weatherald were sent on the crease from Adelaide’s side. Adam Milne got the new ball to open the attack.

Both openers started a bit safe & slow and had made 27 runs without losing any wicket at the end of the first mandatory Powerplay. The Strikers lost their first wicket of Carey at the score of 42 runs in the 7th over. After the dismissal, Phil Salt came on the crease to join Weatherald. Adelaide had put 50 runs on the scoreboard in 6.5 overs. When both the batsmen tried to increase the run rate Adelaide Strikers lost the second wicket of Jake Weatherald at 80 runs in 9.5 overs. Jake was run out by Chris Green and made 31 runs from 26 balls. In Spite of losing wickets, Adelaide successfully made some small but important partnerships that helped them to reach a total of 159 runs in 20 overs. The top order and middle order handled the situation and gave a defending target to the opposition.

Sydney Thunder needed 160 runs from 120 balls to win the match. Usman Khawaja and Alex Hales were sent to chase the target. Michael Neser got the new ball in hand and was ready to attack. The Thunder did not get a good start and lost the first wicket of Alex Hales in 2.2 overs at the score of 17 runs only. Then Callum Ferguson came to support Khawaja and made a crucial partnership of 56 runs. But Ferguson and Khawaja both were sent back at the score of 73 runs by Michael Neser in the 10th over. That was a big damage for the Strikers and they completely had come under the pressure but that was a nice comeback of Adelaide. Afterward, no batsmen could do well and the team could make 153 runs in 20 overs. They could not achieve the target by 6 runs.

Adelaide Strikers won the 51st BBL match by 6 runs and Peter Siddle was the Man of the Match for his brilliant performance.

Stats - Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney Thunder Head to Head

Series Name Big Bash League 2020-2021 - BBL 10 - KFC BBL T20
Start Date: 24/01/2021 ( Day Night )
Start Time: 16:5 (Local Time)
Stadium Adelaide Oval
Playing Teams Sydney Thunder, Adelaide Strikers
Sydney Thunder Team Squad
Usman Khawaja, Alex Hales, Callum Ferguson,
Ben Cutting, Adam Milne, Alex Ross,
Chris Green, Sam Billings, Nathan McAndrew,
Oliver Davies, Brendan Doggett, Tanveer Sangha,
Adelaide Strikers Team Squad
Danny Briggs, Peter Siddle, Michael Neser,
Travis Head, Alex Carey, Wes Agar,
Liam O'Connor, Phil Salt, Jake Weatherald,
Matt Renshaw, Ryan Gibson,