Sydney Thunder Cricket Team

Sydney Thunder is a Sydney city-based franchise cricket team in Australian domestic Twenty20 cricket Big Bash League (BBL). Sydney Thunder had won the title once in BBL history. Sydney Thunder team was created back in BBL 2011-12. Sydney Thunder plays their home matches at Sydney Showground Stadium, also known as Giants Stadium. Callum Ferguson is the current captain of the team.  The team is believed as a tough rival in BBL history. The current captain of the team is Callum Ferguson and the head coach of the team is Shane Bond.

Sydney Thunder BBL Performance


The team was first captained by Daniel Smith. They failed to show quality performance and perform extremely poor. They won only 2 league matches out 8 they played. They finished the season on the bottom position.


The franchise changed the captain of the team, and Chris Rogers was assigned as captain of Sydney Thunder. The Sydney Thunder team failed to win even a single match in the league stage. They played 8 league matches and could not even win a single match. This was the worst performance by Sydney Thunder. They finished the season on the bottom position.


The franchise signed Michael Hussey in BBL 2013-14 and assigned him as captain of the team. The franchise did so many changes in the squad, picked quality players in the side changed the team leader, but the outcome did not come in teams favour. They finished the season on the bottom position.


Michael Hussey maintained his captaincy for Sydney Thunder. The team showed little bit improvement and finished the season on second last position.


This was the best season for Sydney Thunder team and their fans. Michael Hussey handled the team captaincy for the last time. The team managed to finish the league stage on 4th position and qualified for playoffs for the first time in BBL history. They won the semi-final match and reached to the finale match of BBL 2015-16. It was the first final of Sydney Thunder. Sydney Thunder played final against Melbourne Stars. Sydney Thunder defeated Melbourne Stars in final and became the champions of BBL 2015-16 and won the title for the first time.


Shane Watson was assigned as the new captain of the team. The defending champions performed extremely poor and finished the league stage and season on the bottom position. 


The Sydney Thunder team failed to show quality performance in BBL 2017-18 and did not qualify for playoffs. They finished the league stage on 6th position. It was a poor performance by such a great side.


This was the last season of Shane Watson for Sydney Thunder as a captain or as a player. Sydney Thunder failed to qualify for knockouts in BBL 2018-19. Sydney Thunder finished the season on 6th position.


Callum Ferguson was assigned as the new captain of the team. He captained the team very well, and Sydney Thunder managed to qualify for playoffs. This was for the second time in BBL history that Sydney Thunder qualified for playoffs. They failed to win the qualifier 2 match and finished the season on 3rd position.

Sydney Thunder Stats

Sydney Thunder vs Sydney Sixers Head to Head

Sydney Thunder vs Hobart Hurricanes Head to Head

Sydney Thunder vs Melbourne Stars Head to Head

Sydney Thunder vs Melbourne Renegades Head to Head

Sydney Thunder vs Adelaide Strikers Head to Head

Sydney Thunder vs Brisbane Heat Head to Head

Sydney Thunder vs Perth Scorchers Head to Head

There is no Upcoming Series Available
There are no Upcoming Matches
Recent Matches
Brisbane Heat( 203/5), Sydney Thunder( 52/1) Brisbane Heat Sydney Showground Stadium DT20
Melbourne Stars( 119/7), Sydney Thunder( 120/7) Melbourne Stars Melbourne Cricket Ground DT20
Sydney Sixers( 187/2), Sydney Thunder( 62/10) Sydney Sixers Sydney Cricket Ground DT20
Melbourne Renegades( 142/9), Sydney Thunder( 144/2) Melbourne Renegades Manuka Oval DT20
Sydney Thunder( 135/10), Hobart Hurricanes( 136/5) Hobart Hurricanes Bellerive Oval DT20
Sydney Thunder( 111/10), Perth Scorchers( 112/1) Perth Scorchers Sydney Showground Stadium DT20
Sydney Thunder( 133/8), Sydney Sixers( 134/3) Sydney Sixers Sydney Showground Stadium DT20
Perth Scorchers( 142/9), Sydney Thunder( 143/4) Perth Scorchers Perth Stadium DT20
Sydney Thunder( 228/6), Hobart Hurricanes( 166/10) Hobart Hurricanes Lavington Sports Oval DT20
Sydney Thunder( 182/6), Brisbane Heat( 171/9) Brisbane Heat Carrara Oval DT20

Recently Played Series Stats