Australia vs India 3rd T20 Match 2020

  • Australia
    19.4 OVERS
    Matthew Wade
    Glenn Maxwell
    Washington Sun
    T Natarajan
  • India
    19.2 OVERS
    Virat Kohli
    Shikhar Dhawan
    Mitchell Sweps
    Glenn Maxwell

The 3rd or last match of the T20I series between Australia and India was played on December 8, Tuesday at Sydney Cricket Ground. Aaron Finch was available for Australia and handled the captaincy of team. Indian team was leading the series by 2-0.  India won the toss and elected to field first.

Wicket-keeper batsman Matthew Wade and Aaron Finch opened the inning for Australia. Captain Finch got out early on golden duck to Washington Sundar. Steven Smith came to bat at number 3 and made good partnership with Matthew Wade. They made partnership of 65 runs for 2nd wicket. Matthew Wade batted brilliantly and showed some quality shots. Smith got out on 24 runs to Washington Sundar. Matthew Wade scored most 80 runs in just 53 balls for Australia. Matthew Wade and Glenn Maxwell made 90 runs partnership for the 3rd wicket. Maxwell scored 54 runs in just 36 balls. T Natarajan bowled brilliantly in the end of the inning and restricted Australia under 190. Australia made 186 runs in their 20 overs. Washington Sundar took most 2 wickets for India.

It was a big target of 187 runs for India to clean sweep Australia in T20I series. KL Rahul and Shikhar Dhawan opened the Indian inning. Aaron Finch played a brilliant gamble to give ball to Maxwell in the 1st over of the inning. The gamble worked in favour of Australia and Maxwell took an early wicket of KL Rahul. Rahul got out on duck to Glenn Maxwell. Virat Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan made a partnership of 74 runs for 2nd wicket. Dhawan got out on 28 runs to Mitchell Swepson. Kohli was looking in great touch and he was on his way to construct a big inning. Sanju Samson failed to contribute with Kohli and got out on just 10 runs. Shreyas Iyer also got out on very first ball of his inning to Mitchell Swepson. Swepson bowled brilliantly for Australia and took 3 wickets. Hardik Pandya came to bat with Kohli and showed some big shots. They made partnership of 44 runs but Hardik got out on 20 runs in 13 balls to Adam Zampa. Virat Kohli also got out on 85 runs to Andrew Tye. Kohli played brilliant inning of 85 runs in just 61 balls but unfortunately could not finish the game for his team.

Australia won the match by 12 runs and Mitchell Swepson was selected as the player of the match for his 3/23. India won the series by 2-1.

Series Name Australia vs India T20 Series 2020
Start Date: 08/12/2020 ( Day Night )
Start Time: 19:10 (Local Time)
Stadium Adelaide Oval
Playing Teams Australia, India
Australia Team Squad
Matthew Wade, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell,
Moises Henriques, Aaron Finch, Adam Zampa,
Sean Abbott, Andrew Tye, Mitchell Swepson,
D'Arcy Short, Daniel Sams,
India Team Squad
Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Yuzvendra Chahal,
Sanju Samson, KL Rahul, Shardul Thakur,
Deepak Chahar, Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Pandya,
Washington Sundar, T Natarajan,