India vs Sri Lanka T20 Series 2023

The two-match Test series between Team India and Bangladesh is now in progress as 2022 comes to a close. However, India will start the 2023 domestic international season shortly after 2022 ends with the T20 series against Sri Lanka. BCCI has already mentioned that India will meet Sri Lanka in a three-match T20I series to open the 2023 season. All the matches of India vs Sri Lanka series will be held in Mumbai, Pune, and Rajkot. Upcoming Ind vs SL T20 series will begin its journey from Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai where the first T20I of the series will be fought 3rd of January, then both teams will move to Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune in order to play the 2nd T20I and finally, they will head over to Rajkot in order to play their last T20 of the series on 7th of January.

Glancing at the finest forecasted team and performer roster for India in the upcoming T20 series against Sri Lanka, Hardik Pandya is predicted to be the captain. On the other hand, the current captain of the Sri Lankan team is Dasun Shanaka, so most probably, he will play the role of captain in the upcoming T20 series in India.

Regarding the batsmen, India would stay on the bench KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, and Rohit Sharma because they may still be healing from injuries. So, Rajat Tripathi and Rahul Patidar will have a very good chance to become part of the Indian T20 squad against Sri Lanka. Both of them have traveled previously on a few occasions with Team India but were not lucky enough to get a chance to perform.

In addition to the aforementioned two, Shubman Gill and Suryakumar Yadav have been acknowledged as candidates who will undoubtedly be part of the Indian lineup. The World's best T20I batsman, Suryakumar Yadav, will wear the number 4 slot while Shubman Gill will bat as the opener.

Despite Jasprit Bumrah will not be there, the bowling department of team India is expected to be in form. Bhuvneshwar Kumar should be in charge of the fast bowling attack and Arshdeep Singh and Harshal Patel serving will support him. Umran Malik will serve as the main standby speedster in addition to such three. On the other hand, the spinners will be chosen from Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, and Shahbaz Ahmed.

Series Result India won the 3 match series by 2-1
Player Of the Series Axar Rajeshbhai Patel
Start Date 2023-01-03
End Date 2023-01-07
Host Country India


India vs Sri Lanka 1st T20 Match 2023
Match 1
Date - 2023-01-03
Day - Tuesday
Time - 19:00(Local)

Player of the Match
Deepak Hooda
Sri Lanka Venue
Wankhede Stadium
India vs Sri Lanka 2nd T20 Match 2023
Match 2
Date - 2023-01-05
Day - Thursday
Time - 19:00(Local)

Player of the Match
Dasun Shanaka
Sri Lanka Venue
Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium
India vs Sri Lanka 3rd T20 Match 2023
Match 3
Date - 2023-01-07
Day - Saturday
Time - 19:00(Local)

Player of the Match
Suryakumar Yadav
Sri Lanka Venue
Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium
India Sri Lanka


India Team Squad
Axar Patel Suryakumar Yadav Yuzvendra Chahal Harshal Patel
Sanju Samson Deepak Hooda Hardik Pandya Ishan Kishan
Washington Sundar Ruturaj Gaikwad Arshdeep Singh Shubman Gill
Shivam Mavi Rahul Tripathi Umran Malik Mukesh Choudhary

Sri Lanka Team Squad
Dhananjaya de Silva Bhanuka Rajapaksa Dasun Shanaka Kusal Mendis
Kasun Rajitha Pathum Nissanka Lahiru Kumara Avishka Fernando
Wanindu Hasaranga Chamika Karunaratne Sadeera Samarawickrama Ashen Bandara
Nuwan Thushara Charith Asalanka Maheesh Theekshana Dilshan Madushanka
Pramod Madushan Dunith Wellalage