Pakistan vs Afghanistan ODI Series 2022

The  Afghanistan Cricket Board revealed their ODI team for the upcoming visit against Pakistan. Afghanistan has chosen a giant lineup of 21 players, which is particularly noteworthy. For the Afghanistan team, the Afghanistan Cricket Board has picked up 17 key players and 4 backups. Hashmatullah Shahidi has been named as the team's leader.

Update: This series is now shifted (postponed) to next year in 2022.

According to initial plans, Afghanistan and Pakistan's three-match ODI series would be contested in Sri Lanka at Hambantota Stadium rather than the UAE. In Hambantota, the Mahinda Rajapaksha Stadium will host the opening game on September 1. Due to the lack of stadiums in the country, the authorities had to adjust their arrangements. As a result of forthcoming matches, the series was moved to Sri Lanka after the ACB requested the UAE and Oman to host it. These two countries have never played in a bilateral ODI series before. Afghani and Pakistani players have played against each other in ICC and Asian Cricket Council competitions. Despite this, the sides have yet to compete in a bilateral series. This bilateral series will be the first time they face each other for a complete series. 

While the two sides have met four times in multi-team championships including the World Cup and Asia Cup, Pakistan has won all four matches. As of July 27, Pakistan's cricket team has played five Twenty20 international matches and two Test matches against the West Indies, while Afghanistan's last international match was in March when they faced Zimbabwe. 

The ICC Super League will give bonuses for the Pakistan-Afghanistan matches. Pakistan is presently in fifth place with 40 points after nine games. Afghanistan, on the other hand, is in 8th position with 30 points after winning all three of its matches thus far. Presently, Pakistan is preparing for its upcoming visit to the West Indies. This tour will commence on July 27 with a five-match T20I series and conclude on August 24 with a two-match Test series.

Start Date


End Date


Host Country

Sri Lanka


Download as PDF


Pakistan Afghanistan