Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel vs Jamaica Tallawahs 13th CPL T20 Match 2014

  • Trinbago Knight Riders
    20 Overs
    Evin Lewis
    Kevin O'Brien
    Andre Russell
    Rusty Theron
  • Jamaica Tallawahs
    20 Overs
    Chris Gayle
    Andre Russell
    Kevin O'Brien
    Fidel Edwards
Kevin O’Brien Bowls Red Steels to another victory - The 13th match of the CPL 2014 saw Trinidad Tobago Red Steel’s and Jamaica Tallawahs come face to face. Both the teams were running in a great form prior to this match and it promised to be a great encounter. After winning the toss the Tallawahs decided to field first. The Red Steel’s went off to a flying start with both the openers Kevin O’Brien and Evin Lewis scoring 44 runs for the 1st wicket. In the 6th over the Irish opener was bowled by Andre Russell he scored 32 runs and looked in great touch. Russell provided the second major breakthrough taking Ross Taylor’s wicket in the same over. Lewis and Darren Bravo put up a great fight and brought back their team in the match. Lewis scored 72 runs while Bravo scored 30 runs. Darren Bravo came in and scored 24 off just 18 balls and Javon Searles scored 14 runs off just 4 balls taking the team to a score of 180 at the end of 20 overs. Russell finished off his spell with 2/23.

The Tallawahs despite of losing the first wicket early got a great start. Chris Gayle and Jermaine Blackwood made all the difference with the bat. Gayle scored 60 runs while Blackwood played a role of anchor scoring only 28 runs. Both the Batsmen had a 76 run partnership for the second wicket which took their team to a score of 97 runs in 12 overs. After a great start Kevin O’Brien struck taking 4 crucial wickets including the wicket of Gayle and Blackwood. Andre Russell was the lone man standing as the whole team collapsed. He played a knock of 40 runs in just 17 balls but failed to win the game for the team. The Tallawahs scored 170 runs in 20 overs thus losing the game by 10 runs. O’Brien finished his match winning spell at figures of 4/22 thus winning the man of the match award.