Australia vs India 1st T20 Match 2020

  • India
    19.3 OVERS
    KL Rahul
    Ravindra Jadej
    Moises Henriqu
    Mitchell Starc
  • Australia
    18.1 OVERS
    Aaron Finch
    D'Arcy Short
    Yuzvendra Chah
    T Natarajan

The 1st match of the T20 International series between Australia and India was played on December 4, Friday at Manuka Oval. Aaron Finch was the captain of the Australian team, and Virat Kohli was the captain of the Indian team. Aaron Finch won the toss and elected to field first.

KL Rahul and Shikhar Dhawan opened the inning for the Indian team. Shikhar Dhawan failed to give an excellent start to the team and got out on just 1 run to Mitchell Starc. Australian team dominated in the power play and bowled brilliantly. Virat Kohli failed once again to score runs and got out to M Swepsen on just 9 runs. Sanju Samson and KL Rahul made an important partnership of 48 runs for 3rd wicket. KL Rahul scored most 51 runs in 40 balls for India. Sanju Samson also made 23 runs in 15 balls. Moises Henriques took 3 wickets and bowled brilliantly in middle overs for the Australian team. India was struggling at 114/6 after 17 overs. R Jadeja played an unbelievable inning of 44 runs in just 23 balls. He remained not out and gave a brilliant finish to the team. India made 161 runs in 1st inning, and it was a target of 162 runs for the Aussies to win the 1st T20 match of the series. Mitchell Starc took 2 wickets for Australia.

When R Jadeja batted, he was hit on the helmet by a bouncer of Mitchell Starc. He was injured, and Yuzi Chahal substituted him as per concussion rule. Aaron Finch and D'Arcy Short opened the inning for Australia. Aaron Finch played aggressive cricket and dominated over Indian bowlers in the power play. Aaron Finch and D'Arcy Short made an opening partnership of runs. Yuzi Chahal broke the partnership, and Aaron Finch got out on 35 runs in 26 balls. Steven Smith came to bat and got out early on 12 runs. Indian bowlers took wickets of the Australian team in middle overs and put Australian team under pressure. Glenn Maxwell failed to score runs for his team and got out on 2 runs to T Natrajan. T Natrajan took his 1st T20I wicket, and that was a special moment for a youngster. D'Arcy Short also failed to finish the game for his team and made 34 runs. He also got out to T Natrajan. Moises Henriques also made 30 runs.

Team India won the match by 11 runs and took an early lead in the series. Yuzi Chahal and T Natrajan took 3 wickets each for India. Yuzi Chahal was selected as the player of the match for his 3/25.

Series Name Australia vs India T20 Series 2020
Start Date: 04/12/2020 ( Day Night )
Start Time: 19:10 (Local Time)
Stadium Brisbane Cricket Ground
Playing Teams Australia, India
Australia Team Squad
Matthew Wade, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc,
Glenn Maxwell, Moises Henriques, Aaron Finch,
Josh Hazlewood, Adam Zampa, Sean Abbott,
Mitchell Swepson, D'Arcy Short,
India Team Squad
Mohammed Shami, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli,
Shikhar Dhawan, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey,
Sanju Samson, KL Rahul, Deepak Chahar,
Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, T Natarajan,