Melbourne Renegades Cricket Team

Melbourne Renegades is a Melbourne city-based franchise cricket team in Australian domestic Twenty20 cricket Big Bash League (BBL). Melbourne Renegades had won the title once in BBL history. The team was inaugurated back in the very first season of BBL in 2011-12. Melbourne Renegades plays their home matches at Marvel Stadium, Melbourne.

Melbourne Renegades BBL Performance


The team was first captained by Andrew McDonald. The first season for Melbourne Renegades was not good, and they managed to win only 2 matches in their maiden season. They finished the league stage at the bottom position, and Aaron Finch was the leading run-scorer for the Renegades team.


The franchise changed the team captain, and Aaron Finch was selected as captain of Renegades. Aaron Finch also scored a century in this season and became first Renegades player to score a century.  They showed quality cricket and won 7 games out of 8 in the league stage and qualified for knockouts. Melbourne Renegades were defeated by Brisbane Heat in the semi-finals. 


The Renegades again struggled in this season and won only 3 league games out of 8. It was a really disappointing performance by such a strong side. They failed to qualify for knockouts in BBL 2013-14.


The franchise signed wicket-keeper batsman Matthew Wade and top-order batsman Callum Ferguson in BBL 2014-15. Despite having brilliant Australian stars in the team, the Renegades managed to win only 3 matches out of 8. They finished the season on 6th position, and it was a big failure for the team.


This franchise changed the coach, and David Saker was hired as head coach of the team. The Renegades also signed Chris Gayle, Cameron White and Xavier Doherty in BBL 2015-16. Nothing had worked for Renegades. They won only 3 games out of 8 in the league stage and finished the season on 5th position.


The Renegades played hot and cold cricket in BBL 2016-17. They won 4 matches out of 8 in the league stage and did not make it to the knockouts. They finished their BBL 2016-17 journey on 5th position.


The Renegades played quality cricket in BBL 2017-18 and qualified for Knockout matches. The Renegades were defeated by Adelaide Strikers in semi-final 2. It was a close match which goes in favour of Adelaide Strikers. Strikers won the match by just 1 run.


This was the best season for Melbourne Renegades as they won their maiden BBL title in this year. Under the captaincy of Aaron Finch, Melbourne Renegades team defeated the Melbourne Stars in the finals of the tournament and won their first title. Dan Christian was a key player for Renegades in this season, and he also won player of the match award in the final match. 


The defending champions Melbourne Renegades failed to qualify for playoffs in BBL 2019-20. They finished the season at the bottom position and won only 3 league games out of 14. This was the worst performance by Renegades in BBL history.

Melbourne Renegades Stats

Melbourne Renegades vs Melbourne Stars Head to Head

Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Thunder Head to Head

Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Sixers Head to Head

Melbourne Renegades vs Hobart Hurricanes Head to Head

Melbourne Renegades vs Adelaide Strikers Head to Head

Melbourne Renegades vs Perth Scorchers Head to Head

Melbourne Renegades vs Brisbane Heat Head to Head

There is no Upcoming Series Available
There are no Upcoming Matches
Melbourne Renegades Last 10 Matches
Match abandoned without a ball bowled Sydney Thunder Sydney Showground Stadium DT20
Melbourne Stars( 137/8), Melbourne Renegades( 139/4) Melbourne Stars Docklands Stadium DT20
Melbourne Renegades( 147/4), Hobart Hurricanes( 148/4) Hobart Hurricanes Docklands Stadium DT20
Melbourne Renegades( 97/7), Melbourne Stars( 98/2) Melbourne Stars Melbourne Cricket Ground DT20
Adelaide Strikers( 177/6), Melbourne Renegades( 178/6) Adelaide Strikers Docklands Stadium DT20
Perth Scorchers( 162/10), Melbourne Renegades( 149/8) Perth Scorchers Perth Stadium DT20
Melbourne Renegades( 183/5), Hobart Hurricanes( 187/4) Hobart Hurricanes Bellerive Oval DT20
Melbourne Renegades( 162/8), Brisbane Heat( 163/4) Brisbane Heat Docklands Stadium DT20
Perth Scorchers( 30/2) Perth Scorchers GMHBA Stadium DT20
Sydney Sixers( 175/6), Melbourne Renegades( 167/7) Sydney Sixers Sydney Cricket Ground DT20

Recently Played Series Stats