Most Man of the Match in IPL

In the Indian Premier League or any other cricket tournament, the Man of the Match title is given to the player who changes the situation of the match and shifts the pressure to the opponent. Whether a team wins or loses, a player's performance is determined by the circumstances in which he is placed. A player who influenced more and left a memorable footprint by his excellent performance in the match is honored as the Man of the Match.

From the beginning of IPL in 2008 to 2022, let's take a closer look at the players who took the highest man of the match in IPL.

AB de Villiers (25 in 184 Matches)

AB de Villiers, a South African right-handed batsman, is at the top position for taking the most MOM in IPL. He was awarded Man of the Match on 25 occasions for his performance in the Indian Premier League. AB played for Delhi Daredevils and Royal Challengers Bangalore, and he made 5162 runs in 170 innings at an average of 39.71. He was a game-changing player of Royal Challengers Bangalore who struck a record partnership with Virat Kohli in IPL. He made his IPL debut with Delhi Capitals against Chennai Super Kings in 2008, since then he has struck 3 centuries and 40 fifties in IPL. 

Chris Gayle (22 in 142 Matches)

Chris Gayle, a left-handed all-rounder of the West Indies, is standing at the number 2nd position for having the most Man of the Match in IPL. He was awarded Man of the Match on 22 occasions in the IPL while playing for Kolkata Knight Riders, Punjab Kings, and Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL. He made 4965 runs in his 141 innings with an average of 39.72. He was one of the most dominant and dangerous batters of the IPL. He started his IPL career with Kolkata Knight Rider and played his first IPL match against Delhi Capitals in 2008. This Caribbean batsman has struck 6 centuries and 31 fifties in IPL.

Rohit Sharma (18 in 221 Matches)

Rohit Sharma, the Indian skipper, is in the 3rd position for holding the most MOM in the history of IPL. Currently, he is the captain of the Mumbai Indians team which is fighting for their single victory in IPL 2022, Sharma has been awarded Man of the Match 18 times in IPL. Rohit Sharma made his IPL debut with Deccan Chargers against Kolkata Knight Riders in 2008 where he was dismissed at the Duck. Since 2008, he has contributed to 221 IPL matches in which he scored 5764 runs at an average of 30.66 while playing for Deccan Chargers and Mumbai Indians. 

David Warner (18 in 161 Matches)

With 18 Man of the Match in IPL, the South African left-handed batter, David Warner holds the 4th position in the list of the most Man of the Match in IPL. He has played for Delhi Capitals and Sunrisers Hyderabad and added 5668 runs from 155 innings at an average of 41.99 with 4 centuries and 53 fifties. He was one of the most crucial and prominent players of the Sunrisers Hyderabad. In 2016, under the leadership of Warner, Hyderabad reached the final and won the IPL title for the first time by defeating RCB. 

MS Dhoni (17 in 228 Matches)

The former Indian skipper, MS Dhoni stands at the 5th position in the list of the most Man of the Match in IPL. MS Dhoni was awarded Man of the Match 17 times in IPL while playing for Chennai Super Kings. From the beginning of IPL and the establishment of Chennai Super Kings, Dhoni was the captain of Chennai till 2015. After the dismissal of CSK in 2016, Dhoni was named as a captain for the Rising Pune Super Giants.

In 2018, when Chennai resumed their journey in IPL, CSK captaincy was handed over to Dhoni again which was continued till 2011. In 2022, Ravindra Jadeja is appointed as a captain in place of MS Dhoni. Under the captaincy of MS, Chennai lifted the IPL trophy on 4 occasions in the year 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021. Mahindra Singh Dhoni also holds the record of playing the maximum matches in the Indian Premier League. He made his IPL debut with Chennai in 2008 while playing against Punjab Kings and since then he has added 4878 runs from his 200 innings at an average of 39.66 with 24 fifties.

List of the most Man of the Match in IPL History

Batsman Total MOM Matches Runs Average
AB de Villiers 25 184 5162 39.71
Chris Gayle 22 142 4965 39.72
Rohit Sharma 18 221 5764 30.66
David Warner 18 161 5876 42.27
MS Dhoni 17 228 4878 39.66
Shane Watson 16 145 3874 30.99
Yousuf Pathan 16 174 3204 29.13
Suresh Raina 14 205 5528 32.52
Kieron Pollard 14 186 3383 29.16
Virat Kohli 14 220 6592 36.43
Gautam Gambhir 13 154 4217 31.01

Most Player of the Match in IPL Team Wise

1 Chennai Super Kings
2 Delhi Capitals
3 Gujarat Titans
4 Kolkata Knight Riders
5 Lucknow Super Giants
6 Mumbai Indians
7 Punjab Kings
8 Rajasthan Royals
9 Royal Challengers Bangalore
10 Sunrisers Hyderabad
   Highest 10th Wicket Partnership in T20 World Cup For Bangladesh List of Test Match Won after Follow On