6000 Runs in IPL

Virat Kohli, the former Indian skipper, is the first player who has crossed the 6000 runs milestone and became fastest to reach 6000 runs in IPL history in 2021. He had done this feat in the 16th match of IPL 2021 against Rajasthan Royals at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, where RCB got the target of 178 runs to win the match. Virat Kohli opened with Devdutt Padikkal and played superbly, both the batters achieved the target in just 16.3 overs. In addition, Devdutt Padikkal struck a century in the match and Virat Kohli added 72 runs.

Shikhar dhawan finally completed 6000 runs in his 200th IPL match in 2022 and became second player to score the fastest 6000 runs in IPL. Shikhar Dhawan has already played 2000 innings to score 6079 runs. Virat Kohli scored 6000 runs in just 196 innings on April 22 in IPL 2021. So, technically both Shikhar and Virat has played almost same innings to score 6000 runs.

Recently in IPL 2023, David warner became 3rd player to score 6000+ runs and then Rohit Sharma joined this elite list and became 4th player. David Warner in 2023 became fastest to score 6000 runs.

List of Players with 6000 Runs in IPL T20

Player Present Team Total Runs High Score 50 100 4 6
Virat Kohli Royal Challengers Bangalore 6844 113 47 9 598 228
Shikhar Dhawan Punjab Kings 6477 106* 49 10 730 144
David Warner Delhi Capitals 6109 126 58 9 608 216
Rohit Sharma Mumbai Indians 6014 109* 41 14 535 247

Check the list of upcoming players who can complete 6000 runs in IPL.

7000 runs in IPL, which player will break this record?

All IPL Records

Rohit Sharma can become fourth player in IPL History to score 6000 runs in IPL 2023.

Virat Kohli took command of the RCB as a captain in the year 2011 and remained till 2021. In 2022, the captaincy of RCB was given to Faf du Plessis. Under the captaincy of Virat Kohli, the squad played 140 matches in which they achieved victory in 64 matches and faced defeat in 69 matches with 3 tied and 4 ending without any outcome.

The year of 2016 in IPL is the most memorable day for Kohli and his fans, as he elevated his batting to new heights. Virat Kohli looked stronger than any other player in IPL history during the 2016 edition of IPL as he struck 973 runs with an incredible average of 81.08 with 4 centuries and eleven 50+ runs. In T20 cricket in 2016, scoring runs at this rate is impossible. Kohli is the only batter who crossed 900 runs in a single season.

Virat Kohli is the only player in the history of IPL who has been playing for a single franchise since the beginning of the IPL in 2008. He is the first player in league history to have appeared in 14 consecutive seasons for the same team. Virat Kohli also holds the record of making the fastest 5000 runs in IPL, he has done this feat in just 165 matches.

Kohli enjoys the honor of being the only player in history to have made three double-century partnerships. In 2016, he scored 229 runs with AB de Villiers for RCB. In 2015, he and ABD formed an unbroken 215-run partnership against the Mumbai Indians. Kohli's first 200-plus run came against Delhi Daredevils in 2012 (204) with Chris Gayle.

Virat Kohli, one of the most aggressive batsmen, has created records that will not be easy for any player to break in the history of IPL.

   Hat Trick in IPL History Highest 6th Wicket Partnership in T20 World Cup For Sri Lanka  

Related Articles