India vs Sri Lanka Test Series 2022

Sri Lanka cricket governing body notified that Sri Lanka will visit India in February and March 2022 to contest a bilateral series of 2 test matches. The test series between India and Sri Lanka will start with the first test match at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore from 25 Feb to 1 March 2022. The second test will be contested at Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali from 5 March to 9 March 2022.

Currently, Dimuth Karunaratne is the captain of the Sri Lanka test squad, on the other hand, Virat Kohli is the captain of the Indian cricket team. Dimuth Karunaratne is an experienced cricketer who has played 72 test matches for Sri Lanka and has scored more than 5000 runs, he started his test career against New Zealand at Galle International Stadium, Nov 17, 2012.

Sri Lanka and India faced each other for the first time in a test on 17 September 1982 and Sri Lanka played their first test match against England on 17 February 1982. As of October 2022, Lanka has played a total of 297 test matches out of which they won 93 tests, lost 113 and 91 drawn, as well as they have faced the Indian team 44 times in test cricket and won 7 matches, lost 20, and 17 tests have been drawn. India has a better winning percentage than Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka for the first time won the overseas Test series against New Zealand in 1967 and the last time they achieved victory was in 2019 against Australia. Considering the numbers in the test record of both the teams against each other, then India is a stronger side and have dominated Sri Lanka more times.

In ICC Test team ranking, India is standing at the top 2 positions and Sri Lanka is at the number 8 position. This shows that India has more winning chances in terms of numbers but the test series trophy will go in hands of those who perform best.

Start Date :


End Date :


Host Country :


Download :

Download as PDF


India vs Sri Lanka 1st Test Match 2022
Match 1
Start Date- 2022-02-25
Time - 09:30(Local)
End Date- 2022-03-01
India Vs
Sri Lanka Venue
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium
India vs Sri Lanka 2nd Test Match 2022
Match 2
Start Date- 2022-03-05
Time - 09:30(Local)
End Date- 2022-03-09
India Vs
Sri Lanka Venue
Punjab Cricket Association Stadium
India Sri Lanka


India Team Squad
Rohit Sharma Virat Kohli Shikhar Dhawan Suryakumar Yadav
Yuzvendra Chahal KL Rahul Shardul Thakur Kuldeep Yadav
Deepak Hooda Deepak Chahar Shreyas Iyer Rishabh Pant
Washington Sundar Ruturaj Gaikwad Avesh Khan Prasidh Krishna
Mohammed Siraj Ravi Bishnoi

Sri Lanka Team Squad
Dinesh Chandimal Danushka Gunathilaka Dushmantha Chameera Dasun Shanaka
Binura Fernando Jeffrey Vandersay Kusal Mendis Pathum Nissanka
Lahiru Kumara Avishka Fernando Wanindu Hasaranga Chamika Karunaratne
Ramesh Mendis Nuwan Thushara Charith Asalanka Maheesh Theekshana
Praveen Jayawickrama Shiran Fernando Kamil Mishara Kongala Liyanage Janith Vimukthi