England vs South Africa T20 Series 2022

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced their plans to welcome South Africa for the 3 T20 international matches bilateral series in the month of July-September 2022. The Eng vs SA T20I series 2022 will begin with the first T20I at County Ground, Bristol on 27 July 2022, then both the teams will move to Sophia Gardens, Cardiff for the second T20I on 28 July, and then the series will end with the third T20I at Rose Bowl, Southampton on 31 July 2022.

Eoin Morgan, a left-handed skipper of the English team will lead the team whereas Temba Bavuma will have the responsibility of captaincy for the Proteas. In terms of ICC T20 team ranking, England holds the top position and South Africa comes at the number 5 position. There is a big difference in their ranking but South Africa has got skilled players who can turn the match anytime.

As of December 2021, England has played 143 T20 internationals in which they won 75 matches, lost 61, 2 T20I were tied and 5 matches ended up without any result. On the other hand, South Africa has participated in 147 T20I matches in which they won 85 and lost 60, 1 match tied, and 1 without any result. In 2021, South Africa played 23 T20I matches in which they got the victory in 15 and lost 8 whereas England contested 17 T20I and won 11 and lost 6 matches.

In terms of ENG vs SA head to head in T20, both the teams have faced each other in 32 matches where England won 20 and lost 11 matches and one ended up without any result. Here England seems to be dominated over Africa. If England has power hitters like Dawid Malan who is at number 2 in ICC ranking then Africa also has Aiden Markram who comes in number 3 position, so there is going to be a very close competition between both the teams in the upcoming month of 2022.

Series Result South Africa Won the 3 Match T20 Series By 2-1
Player Of the Series Reeza Raphael Hendricks
Start Date 2022-07-27
End Date 2022-07-31
Host Country England
Download Download as PDF


England vs South Africa 1st T20 Match 2022
Match 1
Date - 2022-07-27
Time - 18:30(Local)

Player of the Match
Moeen Ali
South Africa Venue
County Ground Bristol
England vs South Africa 2nd T20 Match 2022
Match 2
Date - 2022-07-28
Time - 18:30(Local)

Player of the Match
Rilee Rossouw
South Africa Venue
Sophia Gardens
England vs South Africa 3rd T20 Match 2022
Match 3
Date - 2022-07-31
Time - 14:30(Local)

Player of the Match
Tabraiz Shamsi
South Africa Venue
The Rose Bowl
South Africa England


South Africa Team Squad
Quinton de Kock David Miller Wayne Parnell Dwaine Pretorius
Rassie van der Dussen Keshav Maharaj Rilee Rossouw Reeza Hendricks
Tristan Stubbs Gerald Coetzee Andile Phehlukwayo Tabraiz Shamsi
Kagiso Rabada Heinrich Klaasen Lungi Ngidi Aiden Markram
Anrich Nortje

England Team Squad
Jos Buttler Jonny Bairstow Adil Rashid Chris Jordan
Moeen Ali Dawid Malan Jason Roy Reece Topley
David Willey Liam Livingstone Sam Curran Phil Salt
Richard Gleeson Harry Brook