Wellington Firebirds Cricket Team

Wellington Firebirds is one of the most noted among the 6 Kiwi First-Class cricket squads which constitute NZ Cricket. Based in Wellington, the Firebirds was formed in the year 1873 and is one of the oldest of the 6 1st class domestic cricket teams here. Stephen Murdoch is the current captain for the Firebirds which the team is presently coached by another Kiwi star Jamie Siddons. Wellington Firebirds plays in first class 4 day Plunket Shield competition, the majestic Ford Trophy 1 day competition as well as HRV Cup.
The team holds the best record in Plunket Shield since the inception of the 21st century. The Firebirds clinched the coveted trophy twice in 2000-01 & 20003-04- and was the runner up in 2001-02 as well as in 2002-03 & 2005-06. Basin Reserve in Wellington is the home ground for the Firebirds. However, the team occasionally plays at Karori Park during First Class matches & Westpac Stadium during T20 games. The most notable players of the squad include Tamim Iqbal, Grant Elliott, James Franklin, Luke Woodcock, Luke Ronchi, Mark Gillespie, Andy McKay, Jeetan Patel, Bob Holland, Graham Napier etc. the Firebirds have won the Shell Trophy 20 times and Ford Trophy 7 times.
There is no Upcoming Series Available
There are no Upcoming Matches
Wellington Firebirds Last 10 Matches
Auckland Aces( 109/10), Wellington Firebirds( 110/3) Auckland Aces Eden Park No 2 DT20
Central Districts Stags( 165/9), Wellington Firebirds( 132/10) Central Districts Stags McLean Park DT20
Canterbury Kings( 145/10), Wellington Firebirds( 127/9) Canterbury Kings Basin Reserve DT20
Wellington Firebirds( 136/9), Auckland Aces( 140/3) Auckland Aces Basin Reserve DT20
Otago Volts( 181/8), Wellington Firebirds( 162/10) Otago Volts Basin Reserve DT20
Wellington Firebirds( 152/5), Northern Knights( 154/3) Northern Knights Basin Reserve DT20
Wellington Firebirds( 175/9), Central Districts Stags( 149/9) Central Districts Stags Saxton Oval DT20
Wellington Firebirds( 139/6), Otago Volts( 140/3) Otago Volts University Oval DT20
Northern Knights( 184/4), Wellington Firebirds( 72/10) Northern Knights Seddon Park DT20
Canterbury Kings( 134/5), Wellington Firebirds( 135/3) Canterbury Kings Hagley Oval DT20

Recently Played Series Stats

Super Smash T20 2015 2015-11-05
Super Smash T20 2014 Schedule 2014-11-01
HRV Cup T20 2013-2014 Schedule 2013-11-01